We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Price Value But Less Than Average Otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Ranked #228 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here because the price value for a mid town Manhattan hotel was excellent. However most other things are average at best. As a platinum IHG member I was told I was upgraded to a larger room. That room was very small. I'd hate to see how small the other rooms are. Worse than being small was the room was directly behind the elavotor shaft on one on the higher floors. Everytime the elevator would move the sound in my room was very annoying. I'm not sure what there cleanliness standard is but I was there for three nights and the room was never vacuumed. I minor spill of a nut mix was left on my floor every night. This was quite discomforting as I'm sure this lack of attention is happening elsewhere in the room and property. Lack of cleanliness is a sure way to get a bad review.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaloneBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear TTMLL2215,

Thank you for the review. We value your feedback. I am very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with your room cleanliness. I assure you that this is not our standard. I hope that you will give us another try when you return to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I booked this last minute through Hotwire so there's always a fear of what the trade off is for the great rate. We were both pleasantly surprised by every aspect of this lovely hotel. The rooms were actually much larger than others I have stayed at in midtown Manhattan This is clearly a fairly new hotel and the decor of the room was reflective of this. It was spotless which is key for me to feel at ease. Over the weekend there was a club pumping out loud music bothFriday and Saturday which had me reaching for the earplugs but this was certainly not any fault of the hotel.
I love a hotel that offers a hot breakfast and have stayed at other HIE's in California for this feature alone. It saves not only money but precious time. Breakfast was always fresh and plentiful however prepare to wait for tables to free up and to stand in line for food. We were on the go pretty early and it was always full. Patience is a must. I give mad props to the breakfast attendants - especially Farrell who despite the madness always had a sunny disposition and tried to ensure you had what you needed. In fact all of the staff were notably friendly and accommodating. They really can set the tone of your stay. This hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from Times Sq- which we didn't really mind but some might. Restaurant row is close as are other fabulous restaurants. I would definitely return and happily recommend.

Room Tip: I called ahead early on our day of arrival to request a king size bed and luckily this was not a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kelesa,

Thank you so much for the great review. We are happy that your last minute booking turned into a great experience! We are very glad that you appreciated the location and the service. Thank you for recognizing Farrell by name. We will make sure that he is recognized for his service. We hope to see you on your next trip to New York City!

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was very happy with this hotel. It's a short walk to Javits and Times Square, close to some great restaurants in Hell's Kitchen. The employees were helpful and the buffet exceeded my expectations. The buffet was always crowded, but if the weather is nice you can eat outside on the large patio.

The first night were were woken up early by construction. Thankfully, we were able to move to the back of the hotel for the rest of our stay. If you can request those rooms ahead of time I would, they have much better view too. Also, after the move a lengthy hand-written letter (with candy!) was delivered to our room, apologizing for the noise.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have less construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Cara T,

Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that you loved the hotel. I am sorry about the construction noise on the first night, but am glad that it was taken care of for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After researching and reading reviews, I decided to book my vacation on December in this hotel. It was a real surpise. I had asked for 2 beds, and though via phone they said they couldn't promise to deliver my request, they did. It's a good distance from Times Square and the nearest subway station is around 4 blocks but what I paid it's worth it.
The room is small, but comfortable. The value for my money was worth it.
The staff is very friendly and helps on any request. Only "issue" was our room wasn't ready on time, but we could wait on the lobby.
If you travel on winter season and want to walk to your sites, be careful, snow is tricky. On the hotel they have service that can hook you up with transportation.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADMTZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear ADMTZM,

Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and thought that it was a good value!. We hope that you return soon!

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Location :

The Hotel is Excellently locacted in the 48th street between 10th Ave and 11th Ave...which makes it 15-min-walk away from Time SquRe; Main Bust Terminal and to 7th Ave in General as a main shopping street...its a bit far from the Famous 5th Ave..but u can still walk it if u r a "Walking Person"...Location is Excellent. ..betterocation botels would be much mkre expensive...

Cleanliness:
the room was OK...not very ean nor very dirty..but it was not the best room I have ever been in Cleanliness....especially carpets and bed linen. ...but I didnt spend much at the room so it didnt irrktate me that much....yet u must not expect the cleanest of hotels when u drop by there...

The Hotel Staff:

They r the 2nd best thing after the location...friendly; helpfull and smiley...

Value for Money:

You can easily find a non-Branded Hotel nearby with much lower prices...my advice is to check all the areas for other botels...you woukd find non famous hotels with less prices and same level of cleanliness...all on 48th and 49th street may be...just che k all your options and not go for the botel name u know...it isnt cheap and it isnt WoW..so why not explore other options....

ROOMS ARE VERY VERY SMALL...I guess this is what "Express" Means....but it was Too small...just giving you a heads up..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Moustafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Moustafa M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the detailed review! We appreciate all of the feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time in New York.

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel as a rule is quite pleasant except for a few minor things. The breakfast is ok if you can get seated but we really struggled and as a result ate out a couple of times. The lifts are not worth bothering with they take forever. The staff are pleasant and rooms are clean except a little basic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dieseldavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear dieseldavey,

Thank you very much for the review! We appreciate the feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time in New York City. Please try us again!

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We greeted by Richard on reception on arrival, a larger than life character who was a gem, very knowledgable and made us feel as ease immediately. Although we arrived early our room was available for us. The room was clean and well appointed. The hotels location was great, in a quieter neighbourhood not far from Times Square, the Sea Air and Space Museum and the Port Authority Bus Terminal. Breakfast was excellent, a great supply and large selection. My advice would be to get to breakfast early (6.30) as the room is not huge. Altogether an excellent hotel which I would definitely visit again. all staff were friendly.
free wifi was a huge bonus and greatly appreciated

Room Tip: at the moment there is construction at the front of the hotel, so choose a room at the rear for a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear sean c,

Thank you so much for the awesome review! I love the way you described Richard! It definitely fits him. He is great at what he does. I will make sure that he is recognized for his service to you! We are glad that the location was a great fit for you. Please visit us again when you return.

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#331 of 469 in New York City
557 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,173 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 469 in New York City
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#200 of 469 in New York City
670 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#248 of 469 in New York City
170 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#271 of 469 in New York City
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side

Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing