We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Ranked #224 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel was average. The only two people that actually made an impact on my stay were Kelly and Farrell. Kelly was super sweet at the front desk and attended to our needs promptly. It was a pleasure waking up to Farrell's flamboyant attitude ! and he remembered my name. One thing I clearly remember that hurt my overall experience is when asking for water at the front desk, a young man hesitated instead of promptly being welcoming and saying of course, even after it being my fourth night there. Another employee also lied about the hotel having extra packets of ketchup, or maybe he was unaware which is still bad. I know the hotel did carry extra packets because the pleasant young Farrell the next morning provided me with some for my breakfast !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest Daniel M,

Thank you your comment which we appreciate the feedback. Glad to know that Kelley and Farrell did make your stay enjoyable and we will share your compliment with them.

Regards,

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went to NYC for the "Raisin in the Sun", Broadway Play on 47th and 7th at the Barrymore theatre. It was a nice 10 minute walk from HI Express at Manhattan West. The location is off the path yet within walking distance of everything in NYC, Time Sq, Heard Sq, all Subway stations and all the restaurants. The room was excellent small but that's NYC. Great Rates, Very clean and the Staff from House keeping to the Front Desk were excellent. Kelley and Matthew were always willing to assist. Matthew was very helpfully in providing directions and how to ride the subway (being a suburbanite myself). Kelley was a pro when it came to reserving transportation for myself and two Grand Children (7 & 11) to the airport. We really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express Manhattan West. Thank you Kelley and Matthew for being the most helpful and making our stay memorable.
Loretta G Milton GA

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the higher floor(4 or above) to have a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest LorraineLG,

Thank for for the review and the compliment for Kelley and Matthew! We hope you enjoy the show and wish to see you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, traveled as a couple. I have only good things to say about this place. The guy who checked us is was very kind and friendly.
The rooms are tinny but clean, ours was on the 9th floor with city view. We are very familiar with hotel rooms in big cities, so we expected the size and it didn't bother us at all. The interior is simple but new, same as the bathroom (had only shower). Free WiFi is also a huge plus!
The entire property is quite new from the inside. The breakfast is OK, I mean it does the job and the fresh cinnamon rolls were really good. Be aware that if you come done towards the end of the breakfast (before 9:30am) it is really crowded there, but the staff handled it well and the food trays were always fool and were replaced really fast. Also, if it's a nice sunny day, there is s=an outdoor patio where you have your breakfast if the dining area is full.
All an all, the entire staff was really great great, smiling and willing to help with everything.
The only "thorns" I have on the hotel is the construction works right across the street that wake you up (we were jet-lagged anyway so it didn't bother us much) and the elevators are really slow and during the breakfast time to can spend quite a lot of time on waiting for one.
The area is really nice, only 3 block from the subways station and also there are a lot of cute little places to eat and drink in this area of the Hell's Kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innazg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest Innazg,

Thank your for your feedback! Glad to know that you also like the signature cinnamon roll. Many guests enjoy the outdoor patio seatings which is available 24/7. We love to see you again when you return to NYC!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 4 nights at this hotel and couldn't be more happy with our choice. All the staff were happy & helpful especially the breakfast staff. I love the pancake machine! Breakfast was plentiful but sometimes busy so had to share tables with others. Not a problem for us but may be for others. Room was large and had a wet-room which did flood a bit when we used the shower. Free wifi was fast and well used ;-) We were on the 10th floor at the rear and we had no trouble with outside noise however the air con vent in the corridor was noisy and we could hear it from inside our room. We were so tired from all the walking so it didn't affect our sleep! Overall would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to visit again one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor & rear of the building for less noise and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsthomas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest rsthomas11,

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Have you also try the signature cinnamon roll? Thank you for recommend the hotel and please come back to see us!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the door we felt welcome! We were greeted by Richard and Luis and I don't think there was a single person that didn't smile or say good morning or good evening! Other hotels in this chain or even other chains could take lessons from all of the staff here!

The Holiday Inn Express is across from the Salvation Army but this was not a problem. It was one and half (long ones not the short ones) blocks from the pier for cruise ships, the Intrepid Museum and the water taxi. Four (long ones again) blocks from Times Square. There are a number of restaurants in the area.

I believe the hotel information says continental breakfast, this is a lie!!! It was a full breakfast with sausage, bacon, eggs, cereal, yogurt, toast, apples, bananas, oranges, pancakes, biscuits, gravy... Furell kept it fully stocked during our entire time and it was a busy place.

Room Tip: Choose one on the backside as there is currently construction acorns the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lor_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Lor_Family,

It is nice to hear that you enjoy breakfast and convenient location to the NYC attractions. Your comment will be share with the team, especially to Luis, Richard and Farrell. We would love to see you again!

Regards,

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just celebrated my 50th birthday in New York- and the staff at this hotel were outstanding. The hotel itself was clean, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great. But most of all, my family had a little "situation" on Saturday and the staff were so caring and compassionate- we really appreciated their support.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50andfabulous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear 50andfabulous2014,

Thank you so much for the email. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that everything turned out ok! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went here last year in June - it was an awful week to be in NYC because it rained throughout my whole stay. For those not familiar with NYC, the walk in the rain from 11th Ave towards 8th and 7th doesn't look that far on the map, but it far when you are walking in the rain. Yes there are buses that go across the city but not frequently enough. Besides that if you are looking to hang out in Hell's Kitchen this is the perfect location. Lots of great little cafes and restaurants in the area. But a further than desirable walk to all the typical tourist attractions.

The hotel itself is new, therefore the decor and washroom were updated. When I say it was great value the price was great, but there are small details that didn't give this place a higher rating. The walls and doors are thin. I could hear my neighbours coming home and also could hear them through the walls. The cleaning staff would forget some of their cleaning tools in my room, one time it was a feather duster, another time it was a dust rag. They didn't fill in my coffee station everyday.

The front reception staff were very helpful and courteous, but it did seem that the staff were all new and not at a certain level of professionalism that only experience would be able to fix.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EthelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear EthelN,

Thank you very much for the review! We appreciate the feedback. We welcome you back to see all of the great changes that we have made over the year!

Warm Regards,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#335 of 469 in New York City
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#191 of 469 in New York City
700 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#361 of 469 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side

Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing