We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've only given this very good purely because the buffet breakfast area is just too small to cope with the amount of guests staying when at capacity. We struggled to find anywhere to sit either inside or out on at least three mornings, but I have to praise Farrell, who did everything he could to help us and deserves a special mention. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and spacious, but one other observation ... we were downstairs on the floor below the lobby. There are no stairs down to that floor so sometimes we'd wait ages for one of the two lifts and if they were going up, we'd wait even longer. There are stairs up but signs are there asking you not to use them unless in an emergency. The maintenance manager did escort us up on a couple of occasions though as we'd been waiting so long for the lifts. I'd recommend this hotel as it's in a pretty central location. We were able to walk to most places from 48th.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floor at busy times as you'll wait ages for the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest andie52,

Thank you for your review. We will share the compliments to Farrell and Fernando. We wish to see you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    474
    133
    29
    24
See reviews for
336
304
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff at this hotel was very pleasant and helpful. I'd like to point out a few of the people that impressed me - Luis, Richard, Gaby and Matthew. There were countless others that contributed to a wonderful stay. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Best deal in the Hell's Kitchen area.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the construction across the street from Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie19602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest Laurie19602014,

Thank you so much to write us the nice review. We are glad to know you enjoy the cleanliness of the hotel and the service; your comment is shared with the team, especially with Luis, Richard, Gaby & Matthew. Please come back to see us!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I'll start with the breakfast. It's very nice to start the day with such a breakfast. The articles are fresh, carefully attended to, and above all - free. Farell, the breakfast attendant, was professional, helpful and pleasant, even during stressful minutes. The hotel's location very good and is within walking distance from many restaurants and attractions including Times Square and Broadway theatres.Kelley from the reception was helpful and informative. During weekdays, the construction site across the street will not allow a late morning sleep. for us it didn't matter but if you're a late bloomer...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest ustern,

Thank you for the nice review! We will share the great comment with Farrell and Kelley. Glad to know you enjoy our complimentary breakfast. We wish to see you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A very good hotel not far from Times Square. Some great little restaurants/bars in the area nearby. Stayed in a room with 2 double beds, a little small but certainly manageable. Plentiful breakfast options. Very helpful & efficient staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest gaz88,

Thank you for your review. Very nice to hear that you enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. We wish to see you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I like to bond with people, and the staff at this property were fun. The desk clerk, Matthew, has a space heater behind the desk, even though it is the middle of the summer. I have nick named him "Delicate Flower". When you visit, you should ask to speak to Delicate Flower. I'm hoping the name will stick.

The rooms are small, which is typical for this class of hotel in the city. They have the traditional Holiday Inn Express breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, yogurt, etc.) . It is a four block walk to Times Square, but these are avenue blocks, and it slightly up hill, so it isn't really just outside your door. However, it is still convenient, so long as everyone in your group is fully ambulatory.

This part of the island has historically been reserved for car dealers, horse stables and auto body shops. It is in transition, and as such is more tourist friendly. It is still Hell's Kitchen, but it isn't as rough as it once was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest William M,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Express. This hotel will be my "go to" place for my future NYC vacations. This hotel is located in the "Hell's Kitchen" area of NYC, so it is surrounded by fun and trendy restaurants in every price range. It is about a half mile walk to the closest subway station and just shy of 1 mile walk to Times Square. If you need wash & fold laundry services, there are 2 laundry places (self-serve & wash&fold) open late within 2 blocks. We went to Laundry Cafe and got same day service on 12 pound bag of laundry for $15. Note: This is NYC, do not expect to get a quiet room. As most other reviewers noted, this is a new hotel with WiFi and breakfast included. Breakfast is awesome and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GT_Marketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest GT_Marketing,

Thank you for taking time to write us a great review. We will share the compliment to the team. We are happy see you again on your next visit. Thank you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

On our arrival we were greeted at reception in the morning by Richard.. Very nice gentleman who is as cute as a bear! Anyways the room was not ready but we stored our bags and he helped us plan our entire trip! Gave us free waters and sent us on our way.. The breakfast was good and this young lady Gaby was very nice to us there and helpful at the reception with Richard we don't think he ever leave hotel always smiling. Please give regards to them both our journey only 4 days in the big city but next time we stay much longer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest Mike J,

Thank you for the nice review. We will share your comment with Richard and Gaby! We are glad that you enjoyed the stay, especially the 1st time to NYC! We hope to see you again!

Yan Chung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#316 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#182 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 468 in New York City
560 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
2,471 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#296 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing