We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, new hotel near Grand Central Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #68 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
1 review
“Clean, new hotel near Grand Central Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, a great location near Grand Central Station. This is a new hotel, only eight rooms per floor, so not large, but rooms are good sized and has a well sized breakfast area and a very good breakfast. Very clean, I would recommend this hotel. Plus if you need a late night snack, just a block away from a 99 Cent Pizza location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank other100a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear other100a,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in New York! The 99 cent pizza is a favorite of our hotel staff and guests alike. We hope that this message reaches you well and look forward to seeing you during your next trip to New York.

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    578
    113
    26
    15
See reviews for
578
459
97
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I am a frequent traveler for business and current Hilton Honors Platinum status member. I regularly travel to New York City and I always stay at the Hampton Inn United Nations on East 43rd.
From the moment you walk through the door, you are immediately greeted by a friendly and overly-accommodating staff. Whether its Victoria, Enoch, Jenifer or Johnathan , you will be interacting with some of the most sincere and welcoming people in the industry. They treat me as a member of their family, which makes being away from mine that much easier.
There is a tremendous amount competition in NYC, however, I highly recommend the Hampton Inn United Nations for a steady, reliable and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Ryan S,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We understand how hard it must be to be away from home and are truly flattered to hear that we can provide such comfort while traveling. We hope all is well and look forward to being your home away from home on your next trip to New York!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The absolute best part of the stay at this hotel was the staff. We encountered a really wonderful front desk staffer, Ms. Rodriguez. She was really helpful, always smiling, and really bent backwards to help us when we left an envelope full of cash in the hotel safe. Note, this was after we had checked out already...I had only realized this after we had left but upon receiving our phone call, she went to our room and checked it immediately instead of waiting for housekeeping to do so. It was really above and beyond the call of duty and we really appreciate it. Her honesty and helpfulness as well as the great attitude of everyone else there really raised our opinion of the hotel chain.

With regard to the rest of the stay, the rooms are a decent size, breakfast is generous, the location is great and the property is nice and clean. It was nice but wouldn't have been anything very special except for the staff.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Raweli,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a reader response! It is a great help in spreading the word about our new hotel, and Victoria will surely enjoy hearing that her name was mentioned in a response!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I've been staying at the hampton inn United Nations location in NYC for business since may. It has truly become a home away from home. The customer service is outstanding. Enoch works at the front counter and has been exceptional since the day I checked in! Friendly and accommodating, he always goes out of his way to say hello and ensure my stay is good. All of the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend staying here. It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jls30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
JLS30,

Thank you so much for the great review! I am certain that Enoch will enjoy hearing he made such a positive impression. Hope you are having a great summer!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I had a really nice stay at this hotel when visiting New York for 5 nights. My room was 2104 on the top floor (no view what so ever). The room was really quiet at nights. The hotel is quite new so the room was extremely clean and modern. I liked especially the clean and modern bathroom even though it was quite small. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is well located and it's only a short walk away from the grand central, so you can catch a subway really easily. WiFi in the room is free and it worked well. Bed was nice and comfortable. Really big plus side was that there was a complimentary breakfast with hot and cold foods. Not the best hotel breakfast I've had, but it was plenty to get the day going.

Only negative comment on this hotel is the air conditioning in the room. The AC is located close to the floor so that it blasts cold air straight towards the bed. Quite funny, but I literally had to make a "pillow shelter" to the other side of the bed so the cold air wouldn't bother me all night. I tried to adjust the AC manually, but it didn't make any difference. AC was either blasting cold air full throttle or it was off, and if it was off the room was extremely hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni_quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Toni_quest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a reader response! We're sorry to hear about the issue you encountered with your heater; I spoke with the chief engineer and the problem has been resolved. We hope that this issue will not deter you from staying with us for your next trip to New York City. It was a pleasure reading your response, thank you again for taking the time!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Friendly Staff, Great Location..Will Definitely Return. Great Access to Parking Arcade. Easy Walk to Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations. Staff is very Helpful with Popular Locations to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott5551212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Scott L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our discounted parking accommodations right next door to us. We understand that driving around in New York City can be a bit frustrating, especially when trying to find parking. We hope to see you soon and enjoy the rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Dear Hampton Staff,

I had made a reservation of 3 rooms at Hampton Inn, Manhattan United Nations in NYC from 23rd-27th July.

Your hotel is conveniently located and well maintained. It seemed pretty new and I was impressed with the interiors and decor, given the pricing of your hotel.

Would like to give you some feedback though:-

Breakfast Area - seemed cramped, when its busy
Boring breakfast menu for Vegetarians.
The food lacked passion - boring eggs, waffles were very average. Variety of Yogurt was good though

Hope you guys can look into this.


If you sort this out, I will surely want to come back to your property!

All the best.

- Aby B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbyBaldota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello AbyBaldota,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently in the process of adding new items to our breakfast, and are confident you will enjoy them when you stay with us next! Hope you are having a great summer, thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing