We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #62 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed overnight to catch a show in the city and was very impressed. The hotel is perfectly located for grabbing a train from Grand Central (only 2 blocks away).

The room we had was slightly cramped but was well organized and fit our needs exactly. The Air Conditioning was high powered and cooled the room which was important since it was pretty hot out.

The staff was all really friendly and they were kind enough to hold our bags after we checked out and wanted to walk around the city before catching a train back to CT.

All in all, it was great hotel stay and I would highly recommend it to people who are venturing into the city. It's not fancy or luxurious but definitely fills the need for a clean and quiet room for a night or two.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property, the Hampton Inn United Nations, of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort and quality of our rooms as well as the complimentary breakfast that was available during your stay. We are grateful for your recommendation for future guests and hope that all your future stays to NYC will be with our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Professional and friendly staff, room was compact, but very clean and we liked the breakfast - it was better than other hotel chains, it had eggs and bacon and waffles. The location is near Grand Central Station which is very pretty and there is a nice market there. I would stay here again. Bathroom has a sliding door, I was not used to that, but all in all, a good value for the money, especially when you factor in breakfast and free wifi. Every staff member I came in contact with was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and quality of the rooms, hot and cold breakfast buffet and ease of access to nearby transportation. We thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations and hope it will be your preferred choice for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at this place for 9 nights from end May till first few days of June 2014. It was a family vacation and we were 4 of us - myself, the missus and our two kids (??) - ages 20 and 15.

We were looking for a room / hotel specifically in midtown Manhattan that
a) could accommodate all 4 of us, since taking 2 rooms was a tad more expensive than we were wanting to pay
b) would be well located vis-a-vis all the main sightseeing places (since this was our first visit to NY) so that we would not need to take cabs too many times.

As usual, did some research (mainly on tripadvisor) and zeroed in on this hotel from the reviews that were posted here. My other options were Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square on West 39th Street and Staybridge Suites on West 40th street. Holiday Inn was about $250 more than Hampton (for the entire 9 n stay) and Staybridge was $700 more. Hampton was the most reasonable [by NY standards !!!!, not otherwise :-) ] so we decided to go with this. Glad we did so.

1) It is a very short walk from Grand Central Stn which makes getting to any part of the city very convenient.
2) Times Square / the theatre district is a short walk (max 20 minutes- very doable)
3) Empire State Building, Rockefeller Centre and the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) too are within 15-20 minutes walking distance

Now as to the hotel itself :-
obviously this is not a grandly luxurious place :-). Its a place to rest your wearied self after long days of sightseeing / shopping / wandering aimlessly around. Having said that, it does a bloody good job of what its meant to. We booked our room thru expedia - did not have to pay any advance or booking amount. Our room was booked as expected - no unpleasant surprises there, thankfully !!! They give free breakfast with the room (for all the occupants, not just for two people, as some places do). The breakfast is basic but functional - bananas or apples, toast, muffins, juice, kelloggs for the kids and the usual suspects (tea, coffee, milk). Every day they also have a combination of an egg preparation and another dish (sausages or potatoes). For vegetarians, these last two are not an option since they are mainly non-veg dishes. But then this is a minor point, not something one really needs to consider. The interesting part though is - complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate 24/7 !!!! Yes, you read that right - 24/7. Hooray... tweedledum and tweedledee !!!!

The rooms are clean - just about ok for 4 people (although after a few days, you do get in each others way). Staff is super efficient - the cleaning is very competent. All in all, i'm sure you could do much much worse than this place.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

P.S. The two stars for the kids activities is because this is not meant to be a hotel that caters to children. No reflection at all on the overall quality etc of the establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank The_Travel-aire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your better than good review on our property! I’m sure the TripAdvisor followers will find the information more than welcoming on choosing their future stay here in NYC and hopefully choosing ours. Hopefully you and the family will be returning to our property once again and can enjoy our complimentary amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here on business. Check in went really well and the staff was very friendly. I was very surprised at how clean the rooms where. This is a GREAT deal for NYC. I plan on staying here again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 203Vayo_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for the great review on our staffs hospitability and room cleanliness. We will be very happy to have you return with us time and time again for your business needs in NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our accommodations were perfect at the Hampton Inn during our recent visit to NYC. The front desk were friendly, helpful and the hotel is ideal in location. We will be back again soon. Thanks Kelvin, Erica and entire team....we appreciate your hospitality

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank 513maurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with our property. We are pleased to hear that your accommodations with us were perfect and that our staff’s hospitability gave you a very friendly touch. On behalf of Kelvin, Erica and the entire Hampton team we will be pleased to have you once again as our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfect location if you want to experience mid-town Manhattan, close to Grand Central Station and many of the Cities main attractions are within walking distance, theater district, Central Park, etc......

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Marti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time in writing this 5 circle review for our property on TripAdvisor. I am sure the many future tourists, adventurers and leisurely travelers will enjoy the information you provided in choosing the right hotel for their stay as this was the perfect one for yours. Hopefully we are able to host all your future stays at our property for all your future travels to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I picked this hotel from online reviews. We value quiet and clean room, good location, good price and this hotel met our expectations. We were also lucky, as we checked in early and our room was already available! I loved that the room had sound machine with a few different sounds to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We at the Hampton Inn United nations would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. It is great to hear that we have fulfilled every expectation and hopefully when returning to NYC we will be able to top your recent stay and those to come here at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
431 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#141 of 470 in New York City
1,124 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £104 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing