We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel...great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #61 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed a week at the Hampton Inn, Manhattan/UN. Initially we had a room with 2 double beds and a small bathroom. Since I have trouble navigating bathtubs, we asked for a room with a walk-in shower. They accommodated us immediately. They moved our luggage for us to a very large room with 2 queen beds and a huge bathroom and walk-in shower. The staff was always helpful and bent over backwards to answer any concerns. They were knowledgeable and professional. It didn't matter if it was the front desk staff or the maid staff, all of them were phenomenal. The beds were comfortable. there is free Wi-Fi and breakfast. It is a short walk to Grand Central Station, close to 2nd Avenue or 3rd Avenue to catch the bus uptown or downtown or crosstown. Enjoyed coming back to the room after a day of sightseeing. Will use them again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for the great five circle review of our staff here at the Hampton Inn United Nations. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you were well accommodated and enjoyed the hospitality of all our staff. We hope all your future travels to NYC will continue with our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed in a room with a king sized bed. It was compact but, had a small balcony that gave a view of the Chrysler Building. The bed was VERY comfortable. The package included parking and breakfast, and the price was very reasonable for NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank jjbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 circle review on your recent stay with our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our parking package, the comfort of the beds and view of our select balcony rooms. We hope we will be your property of choice when returning to the big apple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent service, very professional personnel. The rooms are very comfortable. I requested an accessible room for my mother and it was perfect for her needs. Breakfast was great. Location was OK. Price was a little high, bus considering it is NY we expected that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are very pleased to hear that our personnel showed excellent service and were able to meet your accommodating needs. We hope the hospitality and complimentary amenities make us your preferred choice for all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After staying at a dated NYC Hilton property, I found this Hampton Inn to be quite a relief and pleasant stay. Rooms were quiet, clean and new. Bathroom was a bit on the small side but that's normal for NYC hotels. Enjoyed the welcome treat as a Hilton Gold plus the free wifi. Free breakfast was just ok and average Hampton Inn. Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful.
Location was very convenient to the subway and Grand Central Station. Value was excellent. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for the 5 circle review on your recent stay with our property. We would also like to thank you for your loyalty to the brand as a Hilton Honors gold member. It is a pleasure to hear that you found the value to be excellent and that your future travels to the big apple will be with our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was my 3rd trip to NY but first time staying right in the city, this Hampton is perfect location, you are within a few blocks of Times Square, Central Park, etc. but not in the middle of the crazy city. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff is very patient, and helpful, If you are traveling and expecting early check in, you may be disappointed, the hotel has a noon check out so early check in is difficult, we did get in about 2:15 instead of 3. Breakfast is served, free wifi, rooms are small but big enough for 2 people to be comfortable, we did a king room with city view and it was perfect, 21 floors. If you are driving you have to check your car in parking garage next door, it is $28 per night compared to the $54 they charge regular. Once you leave your car it is pretty much there until you leave. They have to bring up on elevator so you can't get to your car as you wish. I didn't know that when we got there. Not a big if your staying in the city since you don't want to drive if not necessary. I was very happy with my stay here and would stay again. We lucked out with two awesome restaurants Sophia's Restaurant and also Di Marino's excellent Italian food. They were reasonable prices also. Can't wait for my next trip back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana8510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you were very happy with the comfort and quality of the rooms, hot and cold breakfast buffet and ease of access to nearby transportation. We thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations and hope it will be your preferred choice for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This East side hotel was very convenient for our brief NYC visit. Grand Central was only 2 blocks away so it was easy to get all over the city. We were also able to easily walk to the Empire State building. Hotel was clean and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for the time taken to write this review for our property. We are pleased to hear that our staffs hospitality and hotels centralized location to city attractions were to your liking. Hopefully your next visit to New York City will be hosted at our property once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I really like Hampton Inns as a rule, and this one was very nice. Very clean hotel in a good area, close to a variety of restaurants. Nice room. A bit on the small side, but that tends to be the case seems like in NYC. The front desk clerk was very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was substantial--cheese and bacon bagels, turkey sausage, cereal and doughnuts, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. The only down side I can think of is that there was no fridge in our room for storing pop and water. There is coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate available 24/7, which is a nice little perk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruizntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

It gives us great pleasure to hear about your loyalty to Hampton Inn hotels and that you enjoyed the staff’s hospitality and properties complimentary amenities. The team at the property would like to thank you for writing this 4 circle review and hope that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 471 in New York City
453 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#138 of 471 in New York City
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing