We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice service and clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice service and clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

My daughter and I plus a friend of hers just came back from staying at Hampton Inn United Nations hotel in NYC. The day and night personnel were super and deserve a thumbs up. The room was small, but this is NYC. We were three adults in one room with two double beds. Unless you plan to stay in the room a lot size was not a problem.It was clean. Couple things make it better. The sliding door for the bathroom was not super private. The bathroom had no fan so bathroom got super steamy when taking a shower. The price was good and you could walk to numerous tourist sites and metro was close as well. If you go out hotel and turn left good spot catch a cab at end of sidewalk from the hotel. There is no mini fridge so if you have baby formula or medicine that must stay cold that can be a problem. One other tip the front desk doesn't have any little packets of headache aspirin or non aspirin. I think we will go back to another Hampton Inn next time. We love the Chelsea area and will probably try Hampton Inn there again. Have fun in NYC!!!

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor. It was very quiet but I did hear someone say if you want view to stay on top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flygalinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our staffs hospitability and room cleanliness. The information you have provided has been passed on to our team in regards to the bath room doors. We sincerely hope all your future travels to NYC will bring you back to our property.

Thank You,
Laciana Sargeant/Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    562
    110
    24
    15
See reviews for
545
456
96
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

In the city for three days of business meetings, found this Hotel to have what we needed including a great location - you can see Grand Central from the sidewalk out front and just a two blocks walk. We were able to walk the other way a few blocks to the United Nations campus.

Evenings had light entertainment nearby - pubs and restaurants easy walks.

Staff was friendly, great to have a cup of coffee and breakfast in the morning but having the typical Hampton breakfast is a bit disappointing when you're paying this type of price. Breakfast area was nice though.

Room was larger than similar hotels that I've stayed at nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel and staff’s friendliness. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the complimentary amenities. We welcome your feedback and strive to improve. We sincerely hope all your future travels to NYC will bring you back to our property.

Thank you,
Laciana Sargeant/ Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The room was very nice, very quiet and a very good location. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the room. The front desk staff was great and got us checked into a room early. However, the breakfast was the worst I've ever had at a Hampton Inn. During the 20 minutes we were there the first day, there was no fresh fruit and very limited pastries. All the tables were filthy. It seemed like they need another person to work breakfast.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Capn_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel and staff’s friendliness. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the complimentary amenities. We welcome your feedback and strive to improve. We sincerely hope all your future travels to NYC will bring you back to our property.

Thank you,
Laciana Sargeant/ Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocomoke City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The room was a large room compared to many New York hotels. The beds were very comfortable. The only thing I did not like was the sliding door that kept the bathroom from being very private. If you are traveling with your husband, not a problem, but with business associates a little awkward.

The location so near Grand Central Station made it a snap to get anywhere in the city.
Parking garage right down the street gave a hefty discount when presented with the hotel voucher. That was agreat bonus!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our staffs hospitability and room cleanliness. The information you have provided has been passed on to our team in regards to the bath room doors. We sincerely hope all your future travels to NYC will bring you back to our property.

Thank You,
Laciana Sargeant/Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Superb locations just minutes from Grand Central. Helpful and friendly staff. Free wi fi and free breakfast (but don't expect smoked salmon and freshly cooked eggs). Stick with toasted New York bagels and yogurt. Overall for the price, it really can't be beat. And the rooms are fresh and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel and staff’s friendliness. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the complimentary amenities. We sincerely hope all your future travels to NYC will bring you back to our property.

Thank you,
Laciana Sargeant/ Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongducheon, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The entire time we stayed at the Hampton Inn, it was so great. The staff was happy and would ask us about our day, they also were willing to answer any questions we had about the city. The breakfast was excellent, it's a busy one but we had no issues! The rooms were always cleaned when we arrived home after a long day of wandering the city. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!! Ain't nobody got time for some expensive hotel with no free breakfast! Save your money and stay at the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xsarahbarah812x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for the great five circle review of our staff here at the Hampton Inn United Nations. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you were well accommodated and enjoyed the hospitality of all our staff. We hope all your future travels to NYC will continue with our property!

Thank you,
Laciana Sargeant/Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We are checking out tomorrow after 3 nights here. The hotel is lovely and modern and just a few minutes from Grand Central! The reception staff were very friendly throughout our stay, particularly Alexis at reception. Everyday she went out of her way to welcome us back to the hotel and made us really feel at home.
The rooms aren't huge but we found it very acceptable. We have a double room with 2 x double beds. We are a family of 2 x adults and 2 x teenagers with a lot of luggage as we have been in North Carolina for 2 weeks prior to arriving in NYC......the room size was no problem at all!
Sadly there was no real view for us as we didn't book a city view room but this wasn't really an issue as we were out most of our days here anyway.
Breakfast was good but can become busy so best to go for it early.
Would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and would stay here again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shauna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for the great five circle review of our staff here at the Hampton Inn United Nations. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you were well accommodated and enjoyed the hospitality of all our staff. We hope all your future travels to NYC will continue with our property!

Thank You,
Laciana Sargeant/Front Office Supoervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing