We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favorite on the East side!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Ranked #36 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having stayed at the Marriott East side right around the corner and the Courtyard two blocks away, this is without a doubt my favorite Marriott affiliate in the area. The staff is great, breakfast is excellent, and the rooms are surprisingly big -- with microwave, refrigerator, and a safe for valuables. Highly recommend for family vacations and weekend get-a-ways, location is away from most of the NYC hustle & bustle but close enough to walk or subway to everything.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank fieldsfivedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello fieldsfivedad-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was such a nice hotel. Clean and modern. The beds were nice. The free breakfast was great. More then anything the location was awesome. It is about 3 blocks from the subway (E train), 15 minute walk to time square or less. I thought for the price it was a great deal. I felt safe walking around. I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaykay559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello jaykay559-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very well located at 48th and Lexington, this hotel has dozens of major tourist and business sites within easy walking distance. This was a former Helmsley property and has been quite upgraded as a segment of Marriott. We stayed for 5 nights and each was very enjoyable.
Wonderful staff leads the list of winning virtues. Fast, friendly, efficient, and professional. Perfect host is Paul, the bellman, who is simply upper echelon for warm hospitality and knowledge of the area. Nykia and colleagues in guest services were always available for any question or need. The breakfast team was equally friendly and efficient.....and the daily buffet was very well planned and prepared.
Everything work well in the room, so no worries on that item. We had a small balcony which was very nice and a bit unique. Reasonably quiet for sleeping...but, it is New York !!.
No bar or full restaurant is not a problem as there are literally 20 restaurants, lounges, and liquor stores within a square block. Special occasion or expense account? - try the Seafire Grill, only a 1/4 block from the front door. Steak (and seafood) - ultra top notch. Ask for Victor the manager.
Obviously, we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello geezer715-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. Thank you for your special shout out to Paul & Nykia! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The rooms were modern and clean. It appeared that our room had recenlty been updated. A breakfast buffet is included in room price and we were surprised that every day there was something different to eat. Normally it is the same food every morning. The service at breakfast was friendly and efficient. I have stayed at numerous Residence Inns and this one is one of the chain's best. Rooms in NYC are expensive; however, this hotel is reasonably priced and provides a great value. We walked to the theater, to restaurants and to 5th Avenue.

Room Tip: There are only 2 elevators. If you have a room at the top, the view will be better and the room wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasPandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello TexasPandG-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was my third stay at the Residence Inn, Midtown East and each stay has been just terrific! The location is great - 2 blocks to the Lexington Ave subway, up and downtown buses at each corner - why, you can easily walk to the West Side. We walked to Radio City and the jewelry district quite easily. Having a kitchenette and work nook is really great! And the room was large and comfortable for NYC. Breakfast is super: a full hot buffet, belgian waffles, fruit, yogurt parfait, oatmeal and cereals. And in the evenings Tues - Thursday they put out yet more food! Broccoli cheese soup with roast chicken, bread, fruit and dessert. My kid loved it - plus, we enjoyed sitting next to the fireplace. So cozy on a cold New York evening. Workout room is decent too. Justin and his team really work to make you comfortable, meet every need, and go the extra mile. If you stay in the back of the hotel, you'll get a great view of the Chrysler building. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay in the back and get a view of the Chrysler Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicanna212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello tropicanna212-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experiences. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton each time you have stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It's been years since I stayed at a Residence Inn and what I remembered was pretty average; however, I was pleasant surprised by this hotel. The room had a small working kitchen although I didn't need it. It had a nice desk and I had a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower could have fit 9 people. The towels were a good quality. The hotel was centrally located and the bellmen tried hard to get you a cab. I didn't eat at the hotel but they offered complimentary breakfast. My only negative comment was with the HVAC. The thermostat in the room indicated the temperature was 72 which is a little warm for me. I lowered it to mid-60s but the temperature didn't go down - perhaps I should put the air on but that didn't seem right for November. Otherwise, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Woodstock1968-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had only 1.5 day on NYC on my way home.
I chose this Marriott hotel due it's location to JFK shuttle and my personal preference to Residence Inns.
I'd arrived to hotel around 7 am after a "red eye" from SFO with only purpose to leave my luggage and then walk the streets till "check in" time.
It took me by surprise when I was offered a room to check in right away where I'd got some rest and my NYC visit went from good to great.
Overall, this hotel has very nice rooms with great view from the balcony (16 floor) which adds to your NYC experience.
You can also enjoy nice complimentary breakfast.

I do recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with Balcony to 48 streets has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbub76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello Superbub76-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#123 of 471 in New York City
1,338 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 471 in New York City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#216 of 471 in New York City
2,476 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#157 of 471 in New York City
5,837 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 471 in New York City
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue Shopping, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully-equipped kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine and our grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Fuel up with our free hot breakfast to energize your mornings and exercise in our fitness center with treadmills, cycles, and free weights. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing