We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great place, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #42 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marlborough, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, great place, great stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

As longtime Marriott customers, we have come to expect only the best and this stay did not disappoint!. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, the room was clean and spacious, and the complimentary breakfast was terrific . I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view of the Chrysler Building and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello Russ W-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    406
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
703
339
63
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that is close to Rock Center in midtown, this is a solid option. I recently stayed there for business and had a great experience. The rooms were modern, spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast setup is very nice. For the money, in Manhattan, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Higher is better reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello Dan O-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hill, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was the perfect 10 couples trip. We come to New York every year after Thanksgiving to get a feel of the holidays. We loved our rooms and had a blast! We took a tour of the 9/11 memorial, Jersey boys, Black Friday shopping and fantastic food! We went to RARE, Vergil's Bar B Que and the Red Eye Grill all 10's.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Pent House rooms, what a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Michele P-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I were here visiting family for the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel is recently remodeled, so it still looks fresh and modern. Our room was on the backside of the building, so we had a great view of the Chrysler Building- how beautiful at night! Our room had a small kitchen with dishes, pots, utensils, etc. which was great for preparing leftovers. The room was well-sized, especially given the stories about small New York City rooms that I have heard! The included breakfast is a nice touch as well. The food is extensive for a free buffet- eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, and oatmeal.

The staff was the best part of the hotel though. Before we even arrived, we received an email from the Assistant General Manager welcoming us. When we finally did arrive, Sam the doorman was most helpful and courteous. The staff at the reception desk was always accommodating. Derek, the manager, went above and beyond when we missed room cleaning one day, even following up with us later to make sure we still felt at home. And it was nice to wake up every morning and have such a warm greeting at breakfast, especially by Ramon.

Overall, it was a great stay. My husband and I got to see our family, and we weren't intimated by New York City because we felt so welcome at our hotel! When we return to the city, we will return to the Residence Inn Marriott East in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some even numbered rooms have a view of the Chrysler Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HensPen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello HensPen4-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. Thank you for the special shout out of Sam and Derek! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a nice hotel! Modern, clean and spacious. I did not expect this from a Residence Inn. I stayed at a nearby luxury hotel and the size of that hotel room was "shoebox" at best. Great location, good breakfast included, and helpful staff. You couldn't ask for anything more. Hidden gem in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello Scw2k-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Marriott East side right around the corner and the Courtyard two blocks away, this is without a doubt my favorite Marriott affiliate in the area. The staff is great, breakfast is excellent, and the rooms are surprisingly big -- with microwave, refrigerator, and a safe for valuables. Highly recommend for family vacations and weekend get-a-ways, location is away from most of the NYC hustle & bustle but close enough to walk or subway to everything.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fieldsfivedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello fieldsfivedad-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was such a nice hotel. Clean and modern. The beds were nice. The free breakfast was great. More then anything the location was awesome. It is about 3 blocks from the subway (E train), 15 minute walk to time square or less. I thought for the price it was a great deal. I felt safe walking around. I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaykay559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello jaykay559-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,376 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 468 in New York City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#196 of 468 in New York City
2,335 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#48 of 468 in New York City
198 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space. A kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing