We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE only place I’ll stay in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #41 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE only place I’ll stay in NYC!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My family had a fabulous stay at this hotel. It was the perfect location for us. Walking distance to the shopping on 5th Ave., Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station and even Times Square. The staff was wonderful and helped us in every way we asked. They were very kind and anxious to please. The breakfast was a huge plus for us, serving a hot meal every morning until 10AM. I've stayed in many hotels in New York, but this Residence Inn was definitely the best. We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel and it couldn't have been a better vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Hello Pat P-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    406
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
702
338
63
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is warm and inviting. Very well done renovations in modern rooms . Hotel staff very courteous and respond promptly to requests We had. Also great location on a quieter street with access ability within 10 mins from times square grand central Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Traveler5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello 1Traveler5000-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Busy days surrounded by traffic and crowds could have been more overwhelming, but the staff and accomodations helped us relax. We loved having breakfast included and there were tons of options from fresh fruit to oatmeal to eggs and bacon. It was a extra treat to have a hot chocolate bar in the lobby :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Kristen B-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience & that you enjoyed our hot chocolate bar located in the main lobby. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for a week as a family of four and we enjoyed the location. A few minutes walk and we were at the Rockefeller Center or at Grand Central Station. We were able to walk to many attractions or hop on the subway to the rest. The rooms were smaller than we had expected, but very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful regarding restaurant recommendations and other attractions. The gym was compact, but adequate with a good selection of equipment. I always managed to find it quiet when I did my morning workout. The complimentary breakfast was a hectic affair! Get there early if you want to sit with your companions. There was a good selection of hot and cold food - some of this was changed/rotated on a daily basis, but the waffles and cereals were always constant. All in all, a good location, away from the hustle and bustle but central enough to be in the thick of things within a few minutes. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and you won't suffer from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doshi009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Doshi009-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Unobtrusively located on 48th between Lexington and Third, this unassuming but modern facility has everything you need to have a comfortable stay in the City. The rates are New York, but just a little more affordable than in the bright lights district. The free breakfast is generous and quite tasty. Next door, The Seafire Grill provides excellent room service at a reasonable (NYC) price. The rooms have Marriott bedding, an up to date feel, and the solidity of a well-constructed hotel: solid doors, nice furnishings, clean everything. And with a nice kitchenette, you can feel you are saving on expenses that way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hello David L-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight while traveling between dc and boston and really enjoyed our stay. We plan to come back just to explore ny more soon. Your location was perfect and we appreciated the amenities and pleasant staff!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hello Kristin P-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great service. Hotel very clean, staff nice. Stayed in the room with balcony - very large room for NYC. Recently remodeled - great decor and feel.
The only think - I wish there was a restaurant in the hotel with kitchen opened past 11pm. Strangely, happened to be a problem to find a place in that area with kitchen opened after 11pm when our show ended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marfushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello Marfushi-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 468 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#47 of 468 in New York City
197 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#195 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space. A kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing