We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great services!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Ranked #35 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is such a great find in the city! I have stayed in many hotels around NY and have often felt i didn't quite get enough value for my money- that was not the case here!

I can't say enough about how lovely and helpful the staff were. Everything we needed was provided, including complimentary WiFi!

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the lobby and communal areas are comfortable and homey.

The BREAKFAST is such a selling point! They provide complimentary breakfast buffet every morning and it is delish! (Try making your own Belgian waffle!!!)

The location is right in the heart of midtown, close to both Grand Central and 51st street subway stations which makes it perfect for an easy commute to anywhere in NYC.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and our's had a great view!

Cant find one single fault and I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello DeeL24-

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive feedback from your recent stay at The Residence Inn by Marriott, I would concur that we are a great find in New York City!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our very service oriented associates and additional complimentary amenities such as Wi-Fi and daily hot breakfast, I would agree the make yourself Belgium waffle is great!

We are so pleased that you were comfortable in your home away from home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are two adults traveling without children, ages 45&55. The location is prime. Easy walk to Times Square and Grand Central and Subway/ Radio City. Hotel parking across the way ($45 day) The door man was excellent and check-in super fast and informative. Huge lobby and lounge area that served a nice breakfast. I liked that they had never ending coffee and coco. Two elevators serve this hotel and it would have been nice to have 3. Hotel spotless clean. Room was gorgeous. We were on the 12 th floor in a king room on the corner. Nice galley kitchen with everything you need. Anyone on extended business would have all they need to eat in and cook. The bed was comphy--sheets a bit too much starch, kinda scratchy. We had a patio which was heavenly even in 30 degrees. The hotel isnt too tall so dont expect crazy views,,,BUT THIS IS NYC and if ya want the picture postcard view you must pay for them! Bathroom was great with plenty of towels and very clean. Large desk and TV . We didnt use much else, we were out and about taking in NYC! I would love to stay here again

Oh one quick thing. It does not have a bar but a liquor store is on Madison around the corner.

One other thing I'd like to address from other reviews in general. I think people who have never traveled to NYC need to do a bit more research. It is unlike ANY other city in the world (i travel alot) NYC is tight...its old..its crowded and LOUD. Unless a building has been gutted and re done expect very small rooms. small baths especially. Its just how they were made 100 years ago. Enjoy the charm and the marble and the architecture. Its noisy. everyday and night no matter what street because the buildings echo and noise travels down the grid streets. Bask in it--you can have quiet when you get home. Its expensive--very--plan for it. Walk alot..you can get everywhere on foot if you make the effort. Thats all--its unique/adjust and enjoy.

Room Tip: pay the $10 extra for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn5851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello dawn5851,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive feedback from your recent stay at The Residence Inn by Marriott.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations and main lobby that hosts our complimentary hot daily breakfast. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our very service oriented associates from the bellman to guest services.

We are so pleased that you were comfortable in your home away from home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a wonderful new (only one year old) hotel and now that I have stayed here it will be my "go to" hotel for all future trips to New York City. The staff is friendly and helpful, The rooms are large with a full kitchen. The stylish interior design of the spacious lobby, lounge and breakfast area made it a pleasure to "hang out". There is a full hot and cold buffet breakfast. Yes, lots of hotels have this feature. But what other hotel has staff members stationed in the breakfast area greeting you in the morning and even offering to take you on a tour of the buffet area. On a few of the midweek nights there is also a light dinner offered free of charge - a main course, salad, dessert and beverage. Nothing fancy but what a treat, and what a saving, especially when you are traveling with children and you don't have to go scouting out a restaurant. Here they could eat casually, watch giant TV screens (several were in the lounge and breakfast area). And the location just couldn't be better. I think you have the general idea - I loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hello Gramcookie-

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan Midtown East. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are now your “go to” hotel when traveling to NYC, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great location, close to everything. Very nice and clean room with all the needed amenities for a comfy stay, and I mean everything (Pots and pans/silverware/wine glasses/cups/bottle opener/Wine B. opener/plates. Penthouse has a very large balcony with awesome views, its worth every penny. If you are a light sleeper, they provide earplugs, and if you still complain about the noise from the streets then don't bother coming to NY, its like that in any hotel in Manhattan no matter how high up you are in a building.

Breakfast was great as well, don't really know why some complain about it.

Check in was easy and quick, the front desk personal were professional and kind. Thanks for a wonderful and memorable stay. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the Penthouse Chrysler building view. Generous size room with beautiful views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATARI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hello ATARI3-

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan Midtown East. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our East Side Story Penthouse Suite with wonderful views of the iconic Chrysler Building and a private outdoor terrace. I look forward to seeing you on your future travels to the Big Apple.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have been a bit Marriott family for a long time, but I rarely use them for business travel. With travel costs on the rise in Manhattan, and our office just a block away, I thought I would try it out. The staff is great, the rooms are very comfortable with a great Marriott bed, big bathroom, and a small kitchen area so you can have a few items close by if you want a quick meal or snack. The gym is perfect for working out on the road and breakfast and wifi are free!!! That saves 50USD a day, at least, at most Midtown hotels. I highly recommend this to anyone staying in the midtown area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark8320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hello mark8320,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan Midtown East, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our service oriented associates and amenities that are great for our business travelers such as complimentary Wi-Fi and 24 hour gym. I hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you on your future travels to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I ran the NY half marathon this March and decided to bring my family with me. From just the moment we arrived, the doorman was very helpful - not rushing us, helping with our bags. Our room was very nice and spacious, clean. The kitchen was really important because 2 of my children have severe allergies and we need to cook often. The balcony was a huge bonus. My kids loved to come out and look at the view from the 12th floor. Excellent stay! We are coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronv357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear ron v-

Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our service oriented associates. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great trip to NYC and really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was stylish and comfortable. Loved having the kitchenette. Very clean. Staff was quite helpful. Lots of fun activities nearby. I loved how we were treated well [and given our choice of high floor or room with a balcony] even though we traveled on points.

Room Tip: It's New York. High floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HestiaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear HestiaMaryland,

Thank you for staying with us, and our team is very happy to read your positive review following an enjoyabl stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#125 of 473 in New York City
1,359 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#70 of 473 in New York City
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#216 of 473 in New York City
2,502 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 473 in New York City
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017-1224
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £115 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue Shopping, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully-equipped kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine and our grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Fuel up with our free hot breakfast to energize your mornings and exercise in our fitness center with treadmills, cycles, and free weights. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing