We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oakwood Cosmopolitan(New York City)
View Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Bernic Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New York Marriott East Side(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel 48LEX New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
W New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveller rating
1,241
462
86
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,241
462
86
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastnew yorkchrysler buildingthe breakfast areatimes squaremarriott propertiesbreakfast staffcupcakesgrand central stationfull kitchenrockefeller centersmall kitchenetteevery morningfront desk staffyogurttwo queen bedsthe penthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

*Good midtown location, but it's a 3 block walk to the subway, so if you plan to use the subway consider the extra time and walking distance. Nice to be on a "street" (48th) as they tend to be quieter than the avenues (streets are narrower, so less traffic).
*Breakfast is OK. Hot eggs, meat, etc. as well as fresh fruit, cereals, bagels/muffins/toast, etc.
*Staff were friendly and anxious to help. Only problem was the complete absence of any personnel when we returned to the hotel once at 1:30 a.m. Anybody from the street could have gone through to the elevator and up to any floor. Presume they have cameras, but might have hoped for a live person somewhere in the lobby.
*Asked for a quiet room, so they put us in the back. We had a large construction project out the window which was fairly noisy at times. But hey -- it's New York!
*Comfortable beds and good linens. Housekeeping was only so-so: one day they didn't empty our waste baskets and once they left our room without any (I mean ANY) TP! Called housekeeping and they came within 5 minutes with one roll.
*Kitchen facilities very nice -- new and clean. We used it less than we'd planned, but not because of any fault with what was there.
*Lots of families in the hotel. We are an older couple but enjoyed sharing the hotel with families. Our room was very quiet with no noise from the hall or other rooms (just the construction noise that bled through the window) even when the hotel was full.

The prices varied by day and some days were crazy high. But that's another conversation -- what are you gonna do if the middle of a long stay is one pricey day? We were there 8 nights, 3 on points and they insisted on giving us the cheapest nights on points. Fair enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Sacto2,

Thank you for the wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

We were truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found that everything is in working order as it should be.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is one of the best properties that I have stayed in NYC (and we've stayed in a lot and lived here). The staff was incredibly helpful and professional, the rooms were clean and I wanted a 'quiet room' and I got it. I will definitely stay at this property again--in Mid-town. Loved it.

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper, so ask for a room in the back of the property, facing 47th.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJHulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear DJHulet,

Thank you for the wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

We were truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown and service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had planned a weekend in NYC to celebrate a milestone birthday. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer of more accommodating! The hotel is very convenient to Grand Central Terminal and Time Square. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Richard and H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello Richard H-

Thank you for the wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriot for such a special milestone in your life.

We were truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown and service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location- nice room, clean and.quiet. Small kitchenette. N ice full breakfast. Small issue that hotel manager says she would fix next time: bathroom door did not shut completely-- it was a sliding door- very odd for an American hotel.

Room Tip: Corner-- quiet --Avoid sliding door bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello Olive V-

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

We were truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown and in room amenities that include a kitchenette in every guest room.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a great time at the NY Residence with my husband and (adult) children. DH and I booked a room with a balcony, and it had a great view of the Chrysler building. Our son, who travels with Marriott for work, got a beautiful 1 bedroom suite. Both rooms were well laid out and had a great little kitchen. My son and daughter-in-law loved that they could put our grandson in the living room to sleep at night. The room was clean, but the bathroom was tight. Granted, it is New York City, and this building looks like it was built in the early 1900's, so it was kind of charming. Our son's room looked over some construction, but realistically, it was quiet during the night, and who stays in their room the whole time anyways.

The breakfast was great as well. Wonderful hot breakfast buffet every morning. They had waffles (yummy), fruit, eggs, meats, even healthy foods like fruits and yogurts. There was a good amount of seating when we went early, but it did get crowded later. On our final morning, they had more seating downstairs which was very nice.

The best part of the hotel was the staff. Before we even arrived, the manager Derek sent us a a nice email asking about our trip. We wrote back because it was for our son's birthday that we were visiting. When we arrived, Derek greeted us and kept our bags while our rooms were being prepared. Around 3pm we got calls that they were ready. When we got to our son's room, he had a nice surprise from the staff wishing him a happy birthday! During breakfast, Ramon went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, including getting us items from the kitchen and bringing them to our table! And, when we were finally leaving, Sarah helped us to get a late checkout that made our journey home, so much more manageable. All of the staff always had a genuine smile that really made us feel at home.

All in all, it was an amazing trip to New York, and it was made all the best because of the Residence New York. We will absolutely be back in the future! Cannot say enough about this hotel, their staff, and their management, Job well done!

Room Tip: Pay for the larger rooms with views. Worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello jason k-

Thank you for the wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

We were truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown and wonderful complimentary amenities such as breakfast and Wi-Fi but most importantly our service oriented team, that is led by our Guest Services Manager Derek.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews