We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Ranked #40 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have a new favorite hotel in NYC! We traveled to NYC with our 14 month old child and the hotel staff was great! It's never easy traveling to a city with a young child, but they made the trip very comfortable and easy! We were out and about most of the day, but we always started our day with breakfast. The breakfast staff was so warm, friendly and helpful! They helped entertain our child and even gave him a little bag of animal crackers each morning; which he loved!
There is no doubt we will be coming back to NY and staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chappyhappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello chappyhappyfamily-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are your new favorite hotel in New York City!

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Exactly what I was looking for on our trip to NYC. I was traveling with two 16 year olds and needed something central to a lot of different sights. The Marriott Residence Inn was perfect. Room was clean, breakfast was good and most importantly... The staff was super friendly and helpful!! Highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for something near Grand Central.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScituateHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello ScituateHills-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our centralized location in Midtown Manhattan and our service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Check in went smooth. The lobby is very nice and smells great. They have a couple computers with internet access and printers which was very useful. The free breakfast is pretty good and the staff working it are very nice and friendly. We had 3 rooms. The tv's in them are larger than most hotels. Decorated nicely. Shower pressure was ok, not the best I've had. Overall a very nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, Most do not. We had one and it was a nice feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello michael b-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our complementary amenities including breakfast, Wi-Fi, 24 business and fitness centers.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at Residence Inn. The rooms are always clean and fresh looking, this time we were upgraded to a penthouse room - balcony and all, super. The staff was super helpful, from accommodating my husband's late request to get some clothes cleaned to their polite and positive greetings - always asking if we needed anything. The location is ideal and loved the lobby and breakfast areas (breakfast was delicious and plentiful). We look forward to our next stay there when we visit NYC.
Thank you so much,
nancy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nac731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello nac731-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our upgraded Penthouse Floor rooms with a spacious outdoor terrace and views of the iconic Chrysler Building in addition to our service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from an excellent stay here and I can't be more complimentary about the location, the service and the value provided at this hotel. Like others, I received an email about a week before my arrival acknowledging my visit and asking if I had an special requests.
I responded by letting the hotel know that I was here for an anniversary trip. I was more than pleasantly surprised when the hotel upgraded us to a room on the penthouse floor with a patio and an excellent view of the city. When we came back after a night on the town, we had chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the room.
A few disclosures first. I am a loyal platinum member and I used points for this visit. Still, the welcome and the upgrade set the tone for the entire trip. I am a native New Yorker and I am the first to admit I could not live there again because of the pace and quite honestly the attitude. But my experience here makes me more than willing to visit again and again.
It's hard to beat the location near Grand Central and walking distance to so many attractions. I also loved the fitness center and the free breakfast. I couldn't believe one person complaining about the food. It's free, it's filling and provided so many great choices. It also gave me a chance to meet people from all over the world and it felt like I was part of a big family having breakfast together.
I will say New York seems like a much nicer place than the one I grew up in. I feel like I have a new home away from home.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank whodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello whodman-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating a special occasion. It is our pleasure to provide a complimentary room upgrade when available to our most loyal Marriott Rewards Elite guests, and I am happy to hear you got to enjoy one of our Penthouse Floor rooms.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights to celebrate her 10th birthday. The staff was consistently positive and helpful. They proactively emailed prior to our visit to ask if we were celebrating a special occasion and even sent a long personalized email of ideas of sites to see with my duaghter. Upon our arrival, they upgraded us to a larger room on a higher floor with a balcony that faced the back of the hotel (quieter). We were concerned there would be noise from our neighbors out on their balconies, but had no issue. The hotel sent up some complimentary cupcakes to celebrate her birthday and easily accomodated any request we made. We borrowed umbrellas for an evening storm and they even helped secure a car to the airport.

As suggested by others, the elevators were slow and one was out of order for part of a day, but we made do. The breakfast was excellent for being included in the room price. Lots of choices. Fresh foods and clean eating area.

It was nice to have the kitchen in the room to store extra food or microwave leftovers.

The only tweaks I would make were that it was sometimes hard to find a concierge and the ones at the desk did not appear as knowledgeable as the front desk staff or as the ones who emailed me prior to the visit. Oh and those elevators. If I could give this place a 4.5 I would. ;)

Overall an excellent, personalized experience for a great price. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the back are positive for the view and quiet. If you don't like waiting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Eliza M-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating a special occasion and that we were able to help make it even more memorable with an upgraded spacious room on a high floor and outdoor terrace.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in Manhattan, choose Residence Inn. It is located between Lexington avenue and Third avenue very close to Grand Central.

The rooms are large, clean and equipped with everything one may need: fridge, cooker, tableware, hairdryer, etc.

The personnel is very efficient, polite and helpful.

In fact, I am fishing my memory to find anything I found annoying during my stay and fail. The only tip I may give: ask either for a room not facing 48th St, or for a room located the higher the better. I woke up 5:30 a.m. because of noise made by a trash collecting truck. Believe me, it was not a little five minute noise, it was a long symphony accurately performed during 40 minutes! However, that was the only inconvenience I had to struggle. In all other respects the hotel is two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle_Ventrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Elle_Ventrouge-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown Manhattan and our service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 469 in New York City
1,299 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#66 of 469 in New York City
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#210 of 469 in New York City
2,432 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#152 of 469 in New York City
5,755 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £137 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue Shopping, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully-equipped kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine and our grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Fuel up with our free hot breakfast to energize your mornings and exercise in our fitness center with treadmills, cycles, and free weights. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing