We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Ranked #39 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

just back from NYC, 4 of us girls shared a room at the Residence Inn Midtown east and overall pleased. I found it a little out of the way from a previous trip staying in midtown west. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms roomy with all the necessities of a suite. We walked to many sites or took a cab which wasn't too pricey. We had a small balcony on the 16th floor which was nice. A deli close by and wine store.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnykobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello sunnykobe-

Thank you for review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our service oriented team and your upgraded room with an outdoor terrace on our 16th floor.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Admittedly, I used to live in NYC so I haven't been to many hotels therein. Still, I'd highly recommend this hotel for a business or fun visit. The hotel itself is very comfortable and accessible off the 6. Midtown east always leaves bit to be desired in the way of restaurants but it's easy to get from the hotel to more exciting areas. What the neighborhood lacks for tourists the hotel makes up for in quality and affordability.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello tess572-

Thank you for review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to central location in midtown.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Perfect everything! There's another Marriott across the street.

Great rooms, great service.

If you want a place that feels like home, this is the place to go. Stray to the east side if you want piece and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gtraveladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Gtraveladvisor-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our spacious guest rooms and service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Chose and stayed here at the end of last year after spending days deciding on where to stay. Made the best decision, this hotel is reasonably priced for its location, walking distance to time square, grand central, empire state, top of the rock and most other major NYC landmarks. Rooms were huge for NYC, excellent bathrooms, spacious bedrooms (very clean),kitchen with microwave (microwave popcorn provided every night :)). I had a balcony at the rear of the building which was fantastic even though it didn't look out to much. Breakfast is great (free), big selection of food and large eating area, lobby area is a cool place to chill out at night, you can utilize the free computers, printers and WIFI which is great if you need it. If you can make it back in time you can enjoy the managers supper (free).
The staff at the front desk were New York's finest, witty sense of humor and very helpful, loved talking to these guys in the way in and out.
Don't have anything negative say about this property except for the picture on the website of the outside of the hotel which does it no justice and should be changed.

Omar Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: If you can afford it get the room with the balcony and enjoy the air of NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omz_747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Omz_747-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our spacious guest rooms and centralized location in Midtown Manhattan.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Well, I guess I was being punished for procrastinating. I waited too long to book my trip and wound up here. I figured the Residence Inn was another branch of Marriott like Courtyard. Nope. It's more like a time share. Every room has a full kitchen, complete with microwave and dishwasher and dishes. Great for families on a budget. Annoying for the business traveller. My entire floor smelled like burnt garlic toast. The only room service is from an overpriced seafood restaurant next door. Not a lot of meal options in the area. I wound up buying a microwave entree in the lobby one night. But they were sold out of diet soda my entire stay. I had to walk around the corner to a drugstore for that. They do offer a nice free hot breakfast buffet in the morning. If you don't mind lots of kids running around and screaming in the morning. As for the room. The decor was garish green and the mattress and pillows were thin. Great way for a family to visit Manhattan. No one else should approach the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarriorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello roadwarriorla

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt your stay with us was a form of punishment. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of service and amenities for a great value in New York City, and I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. On your future travels, feel free to visit our concierge for dining recommendations that will better fit your business travels.
My entire team looks forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very good surprise i found my home in new york....
very nice people , nice breakfast , good location
very cleaned , best quality price in new york.
Fantastic sales team and receptionist.
Room Larger than expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franckyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello franckyusa-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our spacious guest rooms and centralized location in Midtown Manhattan.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we stayed one night for a family function in nyc. we bought our night on hotwire and paid a very discounted rate. it was definitely a good value. the room was large and clean with an entire kitchenette which could be very helpful for some. the staff was very accommodating and got us in to a room before the posted check in time. we would definitely stay here again as a low cost option in a central location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwexelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello bwexelman-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our centralized location in Midtown Manhattan and spacious guest rooms.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 469 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#51 of 469 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#61 of 469 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#209 of 469 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
216 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £151 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue Shopping, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully-equipped kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine and our grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Fuel up with our free hot breakfast to energize your mornings and exercise in our fitness center with treadmills, cycles, and free weights. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing