We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each time it gets better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was in Manhattan a few weeks ago visiting family and I stayed here again and I'm so glad I did, the first time was fantastic and this time it was even better than before. Again I'd going to do a lot of repeating myself from the last review but the hotel is clean the staff is very friendly and helpful I was sitting in the lobby waiting and a staff member just came up to see if my stay was ok and if they could do anything to make it better, it's very rare you get that. My room once again was spotless and the view was great with the Met Life & Chrysler Buildings right outside my window. Lastly I really like the location its located within walking distance of so many different things and we did a lot of walking, I'm coming back to Manhattan in late July and I will be staying there once again! If you don't give this hotel a try your crazy!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatingpauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello boatingpauly-

Thank you for your five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us due to our service oriented team wonderful location in the heart of Midtown Manhattan.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a nice property in a good location. We have stayed in Midtown before and really like the area. From a transportation standpoint, subway stops are 5 blocks away. Groceries, Laundry - 2 blocks away.

The staff is great, and was always ready to help out. On the first night we got assigned a room on the 2nd floor facing the road.. The front desk rep said it was a great room. Couldnt sleep the night because of road noise and proximity to the street. Requested for a change and got a great room on 8th floor. The service in general was great, and all requests were handled with a smile.

The room seemed the right size given Midtown/Manhattan standards with a minimal kitchenette that served our purpose.

The breakfast was adequate, and despite being 4th of July week never had to wait for anything at breakfast. Standard fair - Bagels, muffins, and they even had Samosas one day :)

Couple of improvements/nits - a) 2 elevators for a 17 floor property seemed inadequate for a busy hotel. You might have to wait a bit sometimes especially during breakfast, checkout time. b) Concierge could be better informed about local transportation and other options.

Bathroom seemed small, and bath products seemed OK. My son mentioned - "Dad, wasnt the soap/shampoo better at the hotel we stayed in DC", and I had to agree.

Nice hotel, would recommend.

Room Tip: Please request a room away from the (48th) street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TP_Travel_Chronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello TP_Travel_Chronicles-

Thank you for your five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed our convenient location central in Midtown Manhattan and that we were able to accommodate you on a higher floor away from the street noise.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my kids, and this was the perfect choice for us! They even had a room ready right away even though we were about an hour before check in! After a long day of flying with the kids, I was so glad to check in and relax in a room right away! I knew then that we would like this place. Very close to attractions and to several subway stops-I mean Grand Central was only a few short blocks away if you didn't want to transfer or needed something other than the 4, 5, or 6. Well worth spending a little more than I wanted on a room with breakfast and wifi included which several hotels want to charge you for these things.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Emily_Jane_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hello Emily_Jane_144-

Thank you for your five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that you and your kids enjoyed our convenient location central in Midtown Manhattan and that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. It is great that you enjoyed many of our complimentary amenities including daily hot breakfast and Wi-Fi.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Convenient location. Can walk to two different subway stops, Rockefeller, the UN. Couple drugstores nearby to pickup drinks for the fridge and snacks. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

Room was spacious and clean.

Free breakfast offered plenty of options and was always kept up very well (despite being a very busy Fourth of July week). Not sure what a previous reviewer meant by not enough healthy options as there was always several types of fruit available.

Staff was very attentive. We needed help with the in room safe and extra towels and had a visit from staff both times within minutes.

Would absolutely stay here again and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: My reco would be a room on the back of the property. I haven't been on the front but heard on he...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello paulmlac-

Thank you for your five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location central in Midtown Manhattan, in addition to our many complimentary amenities such as daily hot breakfast with healthy options available and Wi-Fi.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Located in midtown, easily walk-able to the theater district, dining and 5th Avenue shops, the Residence Inn is worth considering for a mid-tier property. The rooms are large by NYC standards, are recently furnished, and contain basic kitchen capability in addition to a good size desk, and seating area. The hotel furnishes a solid breakfast, better than many provided by other hotel featuring breakfasts. The hot food was hot, it was rapidly replenished even though the hotel was full and the lobby was swarming with people, and the dirty dishes were rapidly removed. Impressive! Hotel staff was quite helpful.

Few downsides; mostly to be expected. Since it is a Residence Inn, there is no restaurant or bar, but all you have to do is walk across the street for those. Parking costs $50/day with hotel validation; the parking lot is across the street from the hotel. The only real criticism is the elevators. When the hotel is full at peak time (breakfast) it can take 5-10 minutes to get up or down. However this does teach you not to forget your sunglasses when you leave your room.

Room Tip: It's NY, so stay up high to avoid street noise. However this may lengthen your elevator wait in...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello RoamerUSA-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City and our spacious guest rooms even for Manhattan standards and our service oriented team. Unfortunately as you noted we do not have a bar in the hotel however there are many on our block alone and many more with a blocks walk away.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good bits :- room was spacious , clean and modern in design. Front of house staff were always welcoming and helpful. Location was very good. Always felt safe walking around and 5th avenue shopping only 10 mins walk away.

Not so good bits :- the breakfast area was not big enough for the amount of guests (could be down to 4th July celebrations). Lifts took a long time to come.

Would I stay again? Yes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westbub59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello westbub59-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City and our spacious guest rooms even for Manhattan standards and our service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel this past winter the better part of 3.5 weeks while my husband was undergoing daily treatment at a nearby hospital . Returned for a quick 1 nite stay due to 2 days of Dr visits and tests . Our room was ready upon check in at 12noon. The bellman Sam remembered us and welcomed us back...All the staff are very nice .The breakfast is substantial including many healthy options.. The only negative I can think of is that they've done away with the managers evening reception ( light bites/ salad/ cheese and crackers )....even tho its still listed on their website

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JoyceinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello JoyceinNY-

Thank you for your five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you this stay and our service oriented team, specifically our bellman Sam, who welcomed you and your husband back to the hotel.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,269 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
1,429 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#200 of 468 in New York City
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
1,487 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#66 of 468 in New York City
651 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £146 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue Shopping, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully-equipped kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine and our grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Fuel up with our free hot breakfast to energize your mornings and exercise in our fitness center with treadmills, cycles, and free weights. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing