We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #46 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with friends in March 2014, we had such a great trip. The location was perfect right in the middle of everything, we were able to walk everywhere. At night we could always get a taxi outside or walk to the Subway 5 minutes away. Our rooms were gorgeous with a stunning view, we found the kitchenette super handy when we wanted a quick cheap bite to eat. The buffet breakfast was great with a good variety of food and drinks, such good value. We were so happy there was free wifi, I found that was quite seldom in New York. The staff were amazing so friendly and went out of their way to make our trip comfortable and fun, meeting any requests. I'm 100% staying here when I'm there again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Karen N-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location in midtown Manhattan and our many complimentary amenities such as daily hot breakfast on a rotating schedule.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    392
    76
    22
    10
See reviews for
660
332
60
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Before I moved to NYC, I used to visit NYC. A lot. I have stayed here a couple times and it has always been wonderful. Midtown east has a slew of hotels and that's because of the great location. Steps to Bryant Park. Accommodated my early check-in. Loved having a kitchen area for extended stays (which is what Residence Inn specializes in). I was in a corner room on a high floor the last time and have zero complaints. No noise, sunlight, view of surrounding high-rises.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Rohk19-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location in midtown Manhattan and our spacious guest rooms with kitchenettes!

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amagansett, New York, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

3:30 a.m first garbage truck right bellow my window. 5:30 next garbage truck on the other side of the street (note to myself: pay more attention to their "for our light sleepers" ear plugs next to the bed even if you normally sleep like a rock). 3rd floor not a good option. The room was clean, the bed comfortable; but the "hanging sliding" bathroom door in a New York size hotel room definitely doesn't give you enough privacy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Chini A-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I sometimes wish we were able to control the sounds of the "city that never sleeps," unfortunately noise will always be present in midtown Manhattan. Acknowledging this, we do take the extra step of providing earplugs in all of our guestrooms to help alleviate some of the noise. I am pleased to hear that the room was clean and comfortable, in the future I can ensure you are secured a room with an opening bathroom door as opposed to the sliding door for privacy and I apologize that was not made available to you for this trip.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a really good hotel in a great location. Good buffet breakfast which changes daily, near to grand central and 10 minute stroll to Times Square. Would highly recommend to all. The wifi is free and it is close to a good little supermarket all rooms have excellent facilities.

Room Tip: High room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Simon W-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am delighted to hear that you thought we are a “great hotel in a great location“ due to our daily complimentary hot breakfast and Wi-Fi.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I recently stayed at a Residence Inn in Phoenix so I was hoping that this one would be as enjoyable. I was not disappointed. The location is wonderful, 5-10 minute walk to Grand Central if you need the train. 5 minute walk to famed shopping on 5th Ave. 10 Minute walk to Times Square. I'd rather stay in this area to cut down on some of the noise of Times Square. I had indicated that it was my fiance's birthday, and upon check-in there was a balloon and cupcake waiting in the room which was very awesome and delicious.
The room is small but that is normal for NYC and the kitchen space made it feel larger. It was great being able to have food in the fridge when we wanted a snack without going out and spending more money. The bathroom was clean, toiletries very nice quality. It was a large stand up shower, would have liked a soaking tub but no big deal, that's what you get in a big city! Bed very comfortable and A/C easy to work. We were on 9th floor and didn't have a problem with street noise.
The doorman was very nice, always greeted us. The free breakfast was great. I was expecting some bagels and fruit but they had eggs, sausage, toast, french toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt. Very impressive, and the man who works the breakfast was outstanding. He always found us a place to sit when we were looking around holding plates, and always cleared our finished plates even though we had no problem doing it ourselves.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and if I return to NY will stay here.

Room Tip: High floor to cut down on street noise. They all have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicysalmonroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear kmbb13-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am delighted to hear that you “loved our hotel” while visiting the big apple! We strive to exceed our guests expectations with the service we provide in conjunction with our many great amenities many of which are complimentary.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Unlike other Residence Inns where we have stayed, the Midtown Residence does not offer 2 bedroom suites, nor do they offer the Res Inn afternoon happy hours and it is expensive, but yet a decent value for New York City. With our adult daughter traveling with us, the two room suite gives us some privacy and saves the expense of 2 separate hotel rooms.

The staff was very helpful storing our bags for the afternoon while we waited for our checkin. Again, it IS NYC, so early checkin is not generally possible.

The room was clean, modern with bath robes. The morning breakfast was nice. Some fresh fruit, selection of breads. Americans will be happy with it. Europeans will think it boring, even though they include meats and cheese of Euro fare.

It's a short 10 min walk or so to 30 Rock and Time Square. Very close to subway stops that will take you quickly uptown and downtown.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kldoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear kldoor-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location in midtown Manhattan and our many complimentary amenities such as daily hot breakfast on a rotating schedule.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Second time in this hotel and I recommend to all!
The location is excelent. Staff is very good too. We stayed at small but confortable room.
Big TV and a good equiped kitchen. The breakfast is very good and they change some dishes daily.
Closest to Times Square, Rockefeller Center and other interesting places.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Rogerio A-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location in midtown Manhattan and our many complimentary amenities such as daily hot breakfast on a rotating schedule.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017-1224
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space. A kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing