We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well located, excellent breakfast, needs new towels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Ranked #114 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“well located, excellent breakfast, needs new towels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights (on points, but it did not matter at all to them - they were still very nice and welcoming). It's one to two blocks from train station and lots of subways. Outstanding (for a new York hotel) free breakfast. The room was large (again, by New York City) standards, and reasonably well appointed. The only negatives were no bathtub (but an acceptable shower large enough for to) and kind of scrawny towels. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street might have traffic noise. Our room overlooked the back - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    463
    91
    19
    13
See reviews for
368
341
82
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Quiet by NYC standards. One block from Penn Station/MSG. Great view from rooftop (34th floor). Can see lower manhattan and the freedom tower, plus the Hudson River and New Jersey. Above average free breakfast. Friendly and helpful employees. Will stay here again someday.

Food recommendation: uncle jacks steakhouse, which is a few blocks away

Great spot to stay if going to a concert or event at Madison Square Garden.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Thanksgiving with our 7 month old and my Parents in Law. There is very little that can be faulted at this hotel. The location was very convenient to Macy's (a must when the primary reason for the visit is to SHOP SHOP SHOP). The room was a good size. The complementary breakfast was excellent. The staff were very helpful- at check in our booking, which was made through a third party website, did not show up with the crib as requested. The clerk checking us in had one sent up within 20 minutes of our arriving in the room. The staffs helpfulness was demonstrated again when our son threw up a milk feed all over the bed, we called down to the reception desk and even though (judging by the way the bed was remade) housekeeping was off for the night an employee was dispatched while we were out to replace the sheets with clean ones. No fuss made. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingedkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Arrived Thanksgiving with Husband, Son, Daughther in Law and 7 month old Grandson,4 night stay this was our 9th visit to New York City and I have to say this was in the top 3 of hotels that we have stayed in. Staff were always helpful and professional. Breakfast was excellent, breakfast room never felt crowded, always plenty on offer. Room was spotless and bathroom was well laid out.Would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Fairfield tends toward the basic side of the Marriot spectrum, but this one offers exactly what a traveller needs in Midtown. Ready access to Penn makes it great for the Amtrak, NJT, or even the EWR-Airtrain traveller. I tend toward La Guardia and have had little issue getting there, either.
The rooftop bar is open even when it it a little cool to be high in the breeze but the view of Downtown is fabulous.
I enjoyed dinners at both Hudson Yards and Uncle Jack's, both within a few minute stroll of the front door.
I look forward to returning to this location - you will, too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howards994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPS1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
howards994, thank you so much for the great 5 star review of our hotel. We agree that the location is perfect for those traveling with public tranpsortation! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and can't wait to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
Mark Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was conveniently located for us to visit our daughter: just a short walk away. All the staff were very polite, friendly, and helpful. We enjoyed having coffee and hot water with an assortment of tea bags available in the lobby when we returned from walking in the cold outside.The breakfast buffet had something for everyone: a great selection. There was quite a large amount of seating for breakfast. The room we stayed in was very clean and nice. You did not hear sounds from other rooms. The mattress was comfortable. The drapes kept the light out of the room for sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayliene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPS1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Jayliene H thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and able meet your needs! We are certainly glad you enjoyed the hot coffee and tea in the lobby!
We hope when your travel plans bring you back to NYC that you come back to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Penn Station.

Best Regards,
Mark Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is in a good location and very nice. Good, free wireless in the room. The only drawback is that I was not able to get any signal on T-moble in the room. I got 5 bars in the lobby, but nothing in the room or hallway. Had to go to lobby to make phone calls.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landmark-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Address: 325 W 33rd St, New York City, NY 10001-2702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station is located off W 33rd street just one-block away from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The location is convenient for visits to Macy's, Herald Square, the Javits Center, the Empire State Building, and The High Line Park. We offer complimentary WiFi, a hot breakfast buffet, as well as modern guest rooms and spacious suites that feature plush Marriott bedding, a flat-screen HDTV, and work desk. The suites offer additional space as well as a couch and pantry that include a microwave and mini-fridge. Unwind after a busy day of exploring the city that never sleeps in one of the city-view rooms or suites and enjoy some of the most scenic views of New York City. Our hotel includes an outdoor patio, a seasonal roof-top bar, and a 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing