We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Clean, Centrally Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Ranked #122 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the Fairfield Inn for a quick night to catch a show in NYC.

The hotel was everything we needed for a one night stay. It was less than a 20 minute walk to the theater, our room was clean and well maintained and the staff was all very pleasant.

The hotel offers a full, complimentary breakfast buffet which was a great treat as something similar would likely cost you $15-$20 a person at other hotels in the city. It offered everything from eggs to sausage to oatmeal and cereal.

Additionally, a huge selling point of the hotel is rooftop bar. After the show, we returned to the hotel and were able to sit on the roof, enjoying the view and not being bothered by anyone. It was a great evening!

If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff you couldn't do much better than the Fairfield Inn Penn Station

Room Tip: Higher rooms will offer a better view as long as you are in the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in New York. We moved to the Fairfield Inn Times Square after one night thinking it would be good to be a little closer to the action and save a few bucks. This place is better. Rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast was crowded but the outdoor seating was nice and the food choices were good. The rooftop terrace was a really pretty place to hang out! Convenient to the subway and easy to get around. We would stay here again

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank heavenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location: right next to Madison Square Garden, Metro station on the corner, couple blocks from Empire State Bldg.
Room: Our room was on the 10th fl. We got the room with city views - the views were ok, but not great. Perhaps if we had higher floor they would have been great, as they were from the rooftop terrace. Looking at the building, the rooms without city we guess look right into another building, so I'd pay a few extra bucks for the city view. The room was not large, but ok. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. Very large shower. This hotel is new, so everything was clean and nice. My only complaint is that the room was perfumed before we went there. Not sure what odor they were trying to mask or if they thought this was a nice touch, but we disliked it and can trigger allergies, so my advice to the hotel is - just make sure the rooms are clean and have no odor, but do not perfume them.
Internet: everywhere in the hotel was great. There is option to pay for better internet, but the free one was very good.
Breakfast: ugh. We went at 9:45 (breakfast ends at 10) and there wasn't much left. They were not taking good care to replenish the food, nor to clean the trash - the trashcans were overflowing. There is a nice patio/court yard where you could eat your breakfast outside. This was nice, but would have been even better if there was good food to eat.
The rooftop terrace was very nice - great view, good cocktails, though a bit pricy - $14 for a small margarita in a plastic cup.

Room Tip: Get a room with city views on higher floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuytza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited 6/2014

Stayed her for a long weekend at the beginning of June.

Very short walk, say a block and a half, from Penn Station.

The front desk staff were courteous, friendly, and professional.

The lobby is spacious with lots of energy. This is an extremely busy property, and folks are continuing coming and going.

The elevator situation is the only reason why I'm not giving this review 5 stars. Even during what seemed to be 'off hours', it seemed like we were waiting forever. And, it appeared that there isn't a housekeeping-specific elevator, meaning everyone was sharing the same elevators, thereby increasing the delays.

Breakfast in the morning was decent, with scrambled eggs, meat (ham, bacon, sausage, turkey sausage), oatmeal, fruit (bananas, apples, oranges), bagels, toast, and coffee. Lots and lots of coffee was a good thing. When I was in my scouting phase of places to stay, the 'free breakfast' option was definitely a plus, as I knew it would save us $15-$20 a day in NYC; however, I was worried that it would be a madhouse free-for-all. I'm happy to say that it wasn't, and really it was more like organized chaos. There were an absolute ton of guests there in the morning, but there was more than enough seating - both inside and outside on the patio - and employees were constantly replenishing and cleaning up.

We opted for the 'city view' room for either $5 or $10 more a night, I forget. Meh. It was a decent view of uptown and the New Yorker building, but nothing special. My suggestion would be to go for a standard room and use the saved funds for the roof deck (see below). The room was spacious for a NYC hotel room; it was clean, well stocked, air conditioned, and reasonably quiet. The bathroom and shower was huge.

One other item I should mention, and I'm apprehensive to do so because I'd rather not let the secret get out, but the roof deck is phenomenal. Absolutely stunning views of lower Manhattan and Jersey City. Great music, professional service, and reasonably-priced drinks. Looked and smelled like the bar also has a food menu, as a few personal pizzas went by during our visit. I would go back to this hotel simply for the roof deck, it was that awesome.

Room Tip: Because of the elevator situation, maybe ask for a room that is accessible via the stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right next to Penn Station. If you're taking a quick trip and need to get in and out of town via Amtrak or other modes of transportation easily (especially in the early morning hours), it's very convenient. However, the downside is that it's a high traffic hotel for tourists, which shows when you walk through the doors. All the foot traffic makes the lobby floors remarkably dirty, which actually made be wonder what I was getting into before I saw my room. (The lobby gave me the impression that the hotel wasn't taken care of that well.) However, I had a corner room that was comfortable for one night. Unfortunately, my toilet got stopped up, so that wasn't ideal. While this hotel isn't necessarily my preference for a place to stay (other than a place to just sleep and go), the convenience of getting in
and out of Penn Station is noteworthy.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank HotelGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel's customer experience is outstanding starting with the Front Desk Manager, Mike to the bell captain Tirone who couldn't do enough to make our NYC trip memorable. Also, visit the rooftop bar. Beautiful view and the bartender Gabe was wonderful. Hotel is very clean, close to attractions and in the morning you get breakfast! Couldn's say enought about this hotel. If you are going to NYC - STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed the second week of August 2014. This is a very nice hotel and the location to Madison Square Garden is perfect. This is a 3+ star hotel and the price was very good.

The room is small but we had 2 queens beds and it worked out great for my family of 4. The staff are very good and very helpful. Right from check in to check out they were very accommodating. Even the cleaning staff were great and helpful. The only issue is is that some of the bathroom towels are the cheap kind (not all of them).

The outside bar on the roof is great, so make sure you visit it. If you plan to use the parking lot adjacent to the hotel, then plan about an extra 15 minutes to get access to your car should you want take a field trip.

We would definitely stay here again. It is close to the Penn Station, so you have access to everything in New York.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a lot quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,896 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#61 of 468 in New York City
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#201 of 468 in New York City
828 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 468 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station

Address: 325 W 33rd St, New York City, NY 10001
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £157 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station is located off W 33rd street just one-block away from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The location is convenient for visits to Macy's, Herald Square, the Javits Center, the Empire State Building, and The High Line Park. We offer complimentary WiFi, a hot breakfast buffet, as well as modern guest rooms and spacious suites that feature plush Marriott bedding, a flat-screen HDTV, and work desk. The suites offer additional space as well as a couch and pantry that include a microwave and mini-fridge. Unwind after a busy day of exploring the city that never sleeps in one of the city-view rooms or suites and enjoy some of the most scenic views of New York City. Our hotel includes an outdoor patio, a seasonal roof-top bar, and a 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing