We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Ranked #110 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Freehold, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Trip to Broadway”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very Nice Hotel! Pretty new and reasonably priced for Midtown Manhattan. Short walk to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. Short cab ride to Broadway shows and Central Park. Provided the traffic isn't too bad. Also a very short cab ride to the Hudson River and museums. Clean and stylish rooms.Very small breakfast area but breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    475
    97
    20
    14
See reviews for
385
361
84
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Michael and his staff were fantastic!! Modern, clean, and comfortable rooms. Beautiful view from the rooftop bar. Perfect location to all the action. Parking garage is conveniently located next door. We will definitely return to this property!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanSwissBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the Fairfield Inn for a quick night to catch a show in NYC.

The hotel was everything we needed for a one night stay. It was less than a 20 minute walk to the theater, our room was clean and well maintained and the staff was all very pleasant.

The hotel offers a full, complimentary breakfast buffet which was a great treat as something similar would likely cost you $15-$20 a person at other hotels in the city. It offered everything from eggs to sausage to oatmeal and cereal.

Additionally, a huge selling point of the hotel is rooftop bar. After the show, we returned to the hotel and were able to sit on the roof, enjoying the view and not being bothered by anyone. It was a great evening!

If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff you couldn't do much better than the Fairfield Inn Penn Station

Room Tip: Higher rooms will offer a better view as long as you are in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henderson, nv
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in New York. We moved to the Fairfield Inn Times Square after one night thinking it would be good to be a little closer to the action and save a few bucks. This place is better. Rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast was crowded but the outdoor seating was nice and the food choices were good. The rooftop terrace was a really pretty place to hang out! Convenient to the subway and easy to get around. We would stay here again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heavenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location: right next to Madison Square Garden, Metro station on the corner, couple blocks from Empire State Bldg.
Room: Our room was on the 10th fl. We got the room with city views - the views were ok, but not great. Perhaps if we had higher floor they would have been great, as they were from the rooftop terrace. Looking at the building, the rooms without city we guess look right into another building, so I'd pay a few extra bucks for the city view. The room was not large, but ok. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. Very large shower. This hotel is new, so everything was clean and nice. My only complaint is that the room was perfumed before we went there. Not sure what odor they were trying to mask or if they thought this was a nice touch, but we disliked it and can trigger allergies, so my advice to the hotel is - just make sure the rooms are clean and have no odor, but do not perfume them.
Internet: everywhere in the hotel was great. There is option to pay for better internet, but the free one was very good.
Breakfast: ugh. We went at 9:45 (breakfast ends at 10) and there wasn't much left. They were not taking good care to replenish the food, nor to clean the trash - the trashcans were overflowing. There is a nice patio/court yard where you could eat your breakfast outside. This was nice, but would have been even better if there was good food to eat.
The rooftop terrace was very nice - great view, good cocktails, though a bit pricy - $14 for a small margarita in a plastic cup.

Room Tip: Get a room with city views on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuytza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited 6/2014

Stayed her for a long weekend at the beginning of June.

Very short walk, say a block and a half, from Penn Station.

The front desk staff were courteous, friendly, and professional.

The lobby is spacious with lots of energy. This is an extremely busy property, and folks are continuing coming and going.

The elevator situation is the only reason why I'm not giving this review 5 stars. Even during what seemed to be 'off hours', it seemed like we were waiting forever. And, it appeared that there isn't a housekeeping-specific elevator, meaning everyone was sharing the same elevators, thereby increasing the delays.

Breakfast in the morning was decent, with scrambled eggs, meat (ham, bacon, sausage, turkey sausage), oatmeal, fruit (bananas, apples, oranges), bagels, toast, and coffee. Lots and lots of coffee was a good thing. When I was in my scouting phase of places to stay, the 'free breakfast' option was definitely a plus, as I knew it would save us $15-$20 a day in NYC; however, I was worried that it would be a madhouse free-for-all. I'm happy to say that it wasn't, and really it was more like organized chaos. There were an absolute ton of guests there in the morning, but there was more than enough seating - both inside and outside on the patio - and employees were constantly replenishing and cleaning up.

We opted for the 'city view' room for either $5 or $10 more a night, I forget. Meh. It was a decent view of uptown and the New Yorker building, but nothing special. My suggestion would be to go for a standard room and use the saved funds for the roof deck (see below). The room was spacious for a NYC hotel room; it was clean, well stocked, air conditioned, and reasonably quiet. The bathroom and shower was huge.

One other item I should mention, and I'm apprehensive to do so because I'd rather not let the secret get out, but the roof deck is phenomenal. Absolutely stunning views of lower Manhattan and Jersey City. Great music, professional service, and reasonably-priced drinks. Looked and smelled like the bar also has a food menu, as a few personal pizzas went by during our visit. I would go back to this hotel simply for the roof deck, it was that awesome.

Room Tip: Because of the elevator situation, maybe ask for a room that is accessible via the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right next to Penn Station. If you're taking a quick trip and need to get in and out of town via Amtrak or other modes of transportation easily (especially in the early morning hours), it's very convenient. However, the downside is that it's a high traffic hotel for tourists, which shows when you walk through the doors. All the foot traffic makes the lobby floors remarkably dirty, which actually made be wonder what I was getting into before I saw my room. (The lobby gave me the impression that the hotel wasn't taken care of that well.) However, I had a corner room that was comfortable for one night. Unfortunately, my toilet got stopped up, so that wasn't ideal. While this hotel isn't necessarily my preference for a place to stay (other than a place to just sleep and go), the convenience of getting in
and out of Penn Station is noteworthy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HotelGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Address: 325 W 33rd St, New York City, NY 10001-2702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station is located off W 33rd street just one-block away from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The location is convenient for visits to Macy's, Herald Square, the Javits Center, the Empire State Building, and The High Line Park. We offer complimentary WiFi, a hot breakfast buffet, as well as modern guest rooms and spacious suites that feature plush Marriott bedding, a flat-screen HDTV, and work desk. The suites offer additional space as well as a couch and pantry that include a microwave and mini-fridge. Unwind after a busy day of exploring the city that never sleeps in one of the city-view rooms or suites and enjoy some of the most scenic views of New York City. Our hotel includes an outdoor patio, a seasonal roof-top bar, and a 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing