We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late night drinks & dancing”
Review of Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay
Ranked #8,916 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Midtown
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“late night drinks & dancing”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped in with the wife & oldest daughter & sister. They had a cover charge which seemed odd but it was late & we were already out. Not too bad but the music was not very good, not sure what the DJ's deal was but he was all over the place. Very loud for sure & it was packed so we had a good time

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
186 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I know that I really shouldn't be complaining about the noise level of a bar, but this place was a bit much. The music was so loud that my friends and I were literally screaming at the top of our lungs to hear each other, despite being seated a few feet from one another. That put a damper on the entire experience. And this doesn't even get into the fact that it took over 30 minutes for the staff to bring us our check after asking.

Didn't try the food, so I can't talk about that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just fine but not real new york”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I go for college games and drink specials since UMD has made this bar home base in the city but in general I avoid this whole area. I'm more of a lower east sider but you can't beat the drink specials and the bar food is just fine after a whole day of drinking. Decent tap selection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank motrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dingy but great deals”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Place is a little dingy but Sundays while the eagles play they have great wing and drink deals. Girl waitress upstairs are good times! Drinks are made good and staff is pleasant. Crowded many days. But it's NY. So get used to it. Over all had a good time with friends

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wam140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Two different floors”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great bar that attracts 2 very different crowds. Downstairs is more low key and a calmer crowd, whereas upstairs is like a mini club with lots of young kids dancing on the bar and a DJ. Both very fun, but very different.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Bay also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Turtle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing