We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Little Food House in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cielo at the Mayfair

Cielo at the Mayfair
Ranked #1,472 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Cielo at The Mayfair is a cozy reincarnation of Caffe Cielo, a popular theater district destination for the past 25 years. Now located next door on West 49th Street just a stone’s throw away from some of Broadway’s most popular shows, Cielo is the perfect place to enjoy a great meal before catching a show. Our delicious Italian fare, rustic decor, friendly staff and affordable prices make Cielo the perfect destination for pre-theatre dinner, post-work drinks or a late night out with friends.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Little Food House in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The food was superb and very reasonably priced.Cozy atmosphere, good service. A true gem on Times Square!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella G, Manager at Cielo at the Mayfair, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
So glad to hear it, Al. As I said on Yelp, we really hope you'll visit us again next time you're in NYC!

Best,
Isabella, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    22
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal with pleasant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Cold night after a long day of travel and we were honestly looking for something as close to our hotel as possible. I think we lucked out with this little place. It was small, cozy, and pretty empty while we were there, but the people who were there seemed to be having a good time with their kids. We sat as a couple in a cozy little nook and enjoyed a 2 hour meal and a bottle of wine. The service at the beginning was a little slow but we weren't in a hurry, and later, when we were just lingering over our entrees, the servers were attentive but happy to have us take our time. The food was reasonably priced for generous portions. We had a bottle of wine, an appetizer, and two pasta entrees for under 100 including tip. I thought the calamari was a touch on the chewy side but we still ate it all so clearly not bad:) My spaghetti puttanesca was cooked just right and had a really well balanced brininess to it. My husband had the carbonara and he enjoyed it a lot. Really, the perfect kind of comfort food for a cold night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank stateofzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella G, Manager at Cielo at the Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We're so glad the cold drove you in! It's wonderful to hear that we could help warm you and your husband up. We make all of our pastas fresh in-house, and the Puttanesca is a favorite of mine — great choice! It sounds like you two were really able to relax, which is fantastic. Thanks so much for this terrific review, and we hope you'll be back next time you find yourselves in the neighborhood!

Sincerely,
Isabella, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best pasta i've ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

while in New York, we were in search for a kind of "hole in the wall" eatery. a place not many people knew about but had killer food. cielo was just that! the staff was amazing & very inviting. Katie was our server; she was incredible. we ordered wine, bruschetta as an appetizer and oh my the spaghetti carbonara was to die for! the restaurant had a very authentic & rustic atmosphere and with their pasta being hand made, how could it not taste amazing?! the food was well worth the price and the atmosphere kept us there for nearly 3 hours. a truly amazing experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vintage1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella G, Manager at Cielo at the Mayfair, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I'll be sure Katie sees this awesome review! Thanks a ton for taking the time to write such nice feedback. While I'm delighted about the 5-star rating you gave us, what really matters most to us is the "stayed-for-3-hours" rating.

We sincerely hope you'll visit again next time you're in the city!

Best,
Isabella, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great italian food, SUPER SUPER SUPER friendly service from Kate (or Kay? Not sure which is correct). Quaint little bar with friendly patrons and NO strangers. I was really happy we went here. My son had the angel hair pasta and loved it. I had some red wine and it was great. Very good value for the money, and, did I mention SUPER SUPER SUPER friendly service? Holy crap, if every place in NYC treated guests like this, I'd never be able to leave. :-) Thanks so much, Cielo!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuJu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella G, Manager at Cielo at the Mayfair, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
It's great to know you and your son were so happy with your meal! It's easy to be so friendly when everyone who stops in to see us is so awesome, so thank you for the review. Please stop by again next time you find yourself in New York!

Sincerely,
Isabella, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our family had dinner here in early December 2013. Our waitress was very friendly and professional, but the food was very basic and did not really seem to be very good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella G, Manager at Cielo at the Mayfair, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I'm glad you were a fan of our service! But I'd like to apologize if our food did not measure up. We do our best to make sure every component of every customer's meal is on-point, so I apologize if you and your family caught us at an off moment. Thanks for the feedback, and I hope that you'll keep us in mind next time you're in the city!

Best,
Isabella, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cielo at the Mayfair also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cielo at the Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing