We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French island in the heart of Manhattan ”
Review of Cocotte

Cocotte
Reserve with OpenTable
Cocotte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #948 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: SoHo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“French island in the heart of Manhattan ”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Have been visiting NYC and stooped by the Soho. There is a quite beautiful cozy basement right in the middle of Soho. My wife and I were completely occupied by the rainbow of tastes and a cuteness of the serving meal.
Thank you for an amazing times and unforgettable meals!

Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    51
    11
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect French getaway”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We had just arrived in the city and were wandering around Soho looking for a light dinner and drinks when we came across Cocotte. Not a fancy exterior, in fact it is below street level. As you walk down the few steps to go in, one of the staff greets you instantly. Morgane was knowledgable with our wine selection and fun to chat with while we enjoyed our meal. Yichyssoise was delightful. Friendly service, small quaint space and wonderful food. We were thrilled with our find!

Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I eat out a lot and this restaurant instantly made an impression on me. The staff is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, really top notch service. Great ambiance and cozy and the food was really terrific and special. It was one of the best french restaurants I've been too, the menu was creative, interesting and just delicious. Portions were great for sharing and wine selection was very nice too. I rarely go back to places repeatedly in NYC and this is one I'll continue to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Sandeman
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A new favorite for me!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Terrific spot, busy and bustling, but maintining great service. Food is fresh and the kitchen isn't making it too complicated; there is nothing pretentious about this place...fresh and honest food complimented by an unintimidating and fairly priced wine list. Okay, this isn't the special French place for your 50th anniversary...it's the special French basque place you eat at twice a week and go home and with enough in your pocket to come back again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Sandeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very well pleased”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I went with my wife and grown children for kind of a brunch at noon on the Saturday before Mothers' Day. I found the place browsing through Open Table, I believe and we were not disappointed. It is a quaint little restaurant which serves small plates, tapa's like. We tried several and I can say that we loved them all. The service is attentive and good. You have to try the hamberger ahich is small enough so that you can try other things. And it is delicious, served with a lite sauce and light salad, You do not add mayo or ketchup, it is not needed. And the sandwich (can't remember the name) is outstanding.
I do not think I would go there for dinner but whenever I am in the area I will definitely go back to munch on some tapas and have a drink or two in a great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandeSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocotte also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cocotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing