We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of options”
Review of Cafe Basil

Cafe Basil
Ranked #8,228 of 13,618 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Cafe, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lots of options”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found this place while looking for a place that serves quinoa salads. BINGO! They have a regular salad bar, a deli counter and a quinoa salad bar. I'm trying to forget that they also have a Mrs. Field's baked good counter also.....

Not exactly cheap ($10+ for the quinoa salad) but it is delicious and nutritious and close to my office.

Staff is usually very friendly, clean place. They even have a small seating area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsISeeThem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick and cheap breakfast”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Ideal for breakfast cooked while you wait. 10% discount. vouchers available if staying at local ymca

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AAVW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stopped in here for coffee and a quick breakfast rather than going to a chain like Starbucks or Pret a Manger. Disappointing. I got a fruit and yogurt parfait, and it must have been sitting out a while because the fruit was starting to turn and the granola was soggy. Gross. They did make me a fresh one when I complained, so they get points for service at least. The atmosphere is not great, either. Sort of cafeteria-like.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siusanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Near where I was working in New York, stopped in for breakfast upon the recommendation of a co-worker from our local office. Inexpensive fast food, prepared fresh in front of you. Several tables at the front, but this is primarily a take out place. The line moves quickly in the morning as office workers order omelets, bagels or hot oatmeal to go. Wide variety of juices and a sushi prep area on one side of the room. Great food for the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieB604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Basil also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing