We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai food, friendly enough, simple decor”
Review of Taan Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

Taan Thai Cuisine
Cuisines: Thai
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Thai food, friendly enough, simple decor”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

There was a group of us, 9, who came here for a late lunch. There was a reasonable lunch special, which many of us had. There was a little confusion with the order, but the food was good and tasty... everyone seemed to enjoy their dish, it wouldn't be a place to go on a date, but on a snowy Saturday afternoon, it was fine. Wouldn't go here on a special date, it's probably okay if you are hungry, in the mood for Thai food and in the neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulyJ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“total waste of money..”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went to this restaurant during our visit in New York. The restaurant’s atmosphere isn’t so pleasant; there are dirty plastic chairs, terrible music (some cd of an awful boy-band) and it’s cold and extremely windy inside. The waitress was really moody (got annoyed when we didn’t know what to order yet after just several minutes).
We had a “Tom Yum Koong” and “Tom Kha Koong” soup, which were both fine, but before we could lay down our spoon the soup-plate was already removed! Before we could even swallow our last bite of soup, we already got the main course set on the table. We all got (different kinds of) thai curries with meat (chicken or beef). The meat was extremely dry… (like they slaughtered a very, very, very old cow!) and the rice was cold, dried in and extremely hard (like they rewarmed and re-used it many times).
After our meal they had the cheek to write suggested (high!) tips on the bill! We weren’t that satisfied with the meal and service, so we didn’t meet their >20% tip-advise; afterwards they got even more moody! Total waste of money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sushi_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Local Thai, Decent Food”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

WE met our niece here for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. Not a big fan of Thai food but the pad thai was tasty and plentiful and the spring rolls were crispy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiamiLouH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Too slow when you have one hour”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A friend and I took a class nearby and had one hour only for lunch. There weren't a lot of people around to ask for help with the menu, and we felt mildly abandoned. We ordered salads and coconut soup.

The soup was extremely good, but a little too spicy. The papaya salad was also a bit too spicy, but delicious all the same. The chef seems to be trying to be creative, and I appreciate that. However, I wouldn't return. The place just wasn't clean enough and the service wasn't attentive enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzieandIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witten, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Can't do nothing wrong here ...”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Landed here on my first night in Manhattan ... it's quiet and cosy, and the food is definitely ok and tasty ... pretty sweet, so you might say they adapted well to the american/international taste.

Staff was friendly and attentive, prices are ok, good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NutellaReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taan Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing