We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and honest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essen Slow Fast Food

Essen Slow Fast Food
Ranked #1,984 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and honest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

It's a very good place to have an honest breakfast. Quick and clean, many options and honest price. It was the nearest place to our hotel, so it was very practical for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiliW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Place to stop for some snacks or breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

After visiting Flatiron building, we found this place very near Madison Square Gardens, I was amazed at the different types of food you could buy - not just a food market, but also smaller kitchens of different cuisines - sandwiches to salads, hot and cold food, even pizzas to noodles and lots of desserts to chose from. Once purchasing your food, you could sit down to eat in seating area or takeaway. Lots of choices for quick snack or a fast food meal in a flash. Very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Clean, bright environment that offers excellent value, with no frills. There is a reasonably wide choice, including healthy options.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank safergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
582 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“fulfilled the oatmeal craving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Somedays you wake up and have a craving for a particular dish and have to keep walking til you find it - in our case it wsa Oatmeal. We tried the Grand Central Terminal food hall only to be told that they serve it Mon-Fri but not on weekends! Luckily after walking a few blocks we stumbled upon Essen (motto - good food made slowly?). It's basically a self-serve cafeteria with a dining area upstairs that had hot oatmeal! Actually quite tasty and served with a selection of fruits and nuts as well. Good selection of cold drinks and juices as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seabird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice especially for breakdast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

This was opposite the mAve hotel and we loved it! Open 24/7 we had breakkie here and what a huge choice you had! Breakie was a delight in the mornings from several choices of coffee/ teas, omelettes, sausages, bagels, pancakes, yogurts, cereals, fruit, cakes, muffins you name it they have it! All fresh! That's just breakkie! They do lunch aswell AND dinner which we did once on our last night!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChryssoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essen Slow Fast Food also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Essen Slow Fast Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing