We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lucky to stay nearby!”

Essen Slow Fast Food
Ranked #1,897 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lucky to stay nearby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Healthy and fresh food , great salands, nice sushi.Excellnt personell and good prices . Nice self service -take off restaurant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elenisavvopoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Oasis on July 4th!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Took a ride to NYC on July 4th. The City was empty for the most part and the heat was unbearable. A number of restaurants were closed and the few that were open were very pricey. We had stopped at a Mexican restaurant right by Grand Central Station and two soft shell tacos were $18 plus!

We started walking and finally stumbled upon this place at Madison Avenue around 44th Street. Although it's quick food, it's good healthy food. Although they had limited selection due to the 4th, we had a freshly made delicious sandwich, fruit and beverage...all under $25. The best part was not only the food, it was so clean. I could not believe how well it was kept and the ladies' room was probably one of the best I've seen from a cleanliness standpoint in NYC.

Congrats to the owner and to the staff - everyone was so pleasant, food was great, and it was spotless. I couldn't ask fo rmore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodaholic5270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Walked from empire state building in search of breakfast and came across this. $30.00 for for breakfasts with juice. Good by any standards fantastic by central new york.

Helpful?
Thank Lasse P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast, lunch, or snacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Essen had a variety of foods from muffins to soup or oatmeal. The decor was modern, and there was a nice place to sit and eat upstairs. I had a great experience, and I would certainly go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaitlyn_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and honest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

It's a very good place to have an honest breakfast. Quick and clean, many options and honest price. It was the nearest place to our hotel, so it was very practical for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiliW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essen Slow Fast Food also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Essen Slow Fast Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing