We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Salad Bar! Madison Ave. btw 26&27.”

Essen Slow Fast Food
Ranked #1,853 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Salad Bar! Madison Ave. btw 26&27.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Essen is not your ordinary salad bar/deli. I was there at 11:30am when owner was overseeing the placement of the teriyaki salmon, grilled whole fish, salads galore and more. Fresh, gorgeous food of 5-star uniqueness. I'll post a photo next time I'm there!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RulaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    45
    17
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
871 reviews
737 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“The Midtown Commisary”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stopped in at their newer place at 290 Madison (between 40th and 41st) for a breakfast bite on Monday. There also appears to be a branch in the Flat Iron District (29 Madison). It is a little like walking into a carnival or street fair, there are so many counters and stations. People were loading up for lunch as well as breakfast on the go. There is some spartan and clean seating on the second floor, which we used to digest our coffee, muffin and bagel.

While the ambiance is pure takeout, cafeteria, this appears to be a good venue for no nonsense, value, variety and speedy dining. The "Fast Slow Food" motto grabbed our attention, and also a coffee cup where they got it reversed: "Slow Fast Food!" With a real United Nations of workers and customers, they cover an incredible range of cooking, from deli to sushi, hot pasta dishes to vegetarian.

Our objective was just to avoid the overpriced captive hotel breakfast racket, and we succeeded. A decent bagel, with plenty of lox and cream cheese for $6.95 was a bargain. The quality was very good although not stellar. The Colombian Coffee was fine, although I was skeptical with half a dozen flavored coffees next to it, for apparently a large number of people who have to doctor their drink.

I am concerned that they may be trying to do too many things, but for our basic breakfast, it was fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rotten, rancid”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I went in there to grab a quick yogurt to take back to my hotel. It was store made, a greek style parfait, with some fresh berries on top. It was expensive for the size, but hey, this is NYC. I took one bite and had to spit it out. It was rancid, yet the "date" on the container was still a week in the future. I was so mad...Do not ever go here. There are a million other better neighborhood places that deserve your business. The next night, I grabbed some hot and cold deli food from another place up the street and it was more reasonable and better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable and delicious”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Perfect place to grab lunch if you're in New York on business and would rather save your money for an expensive dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_girlK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lucky to stay nearby!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Healthy and fresh food , great salands, nice sushi.Excellnt personell and good prices . Nice self service -take off restaurant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elenisavvopoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essen Slow Fast Food also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Essen Slow Fast Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing