We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of The Dead Rabbit

The Dead Rabbit
Get food delivered
Ranked #178 of 13,531 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We called in en route to Pier 6 and ordered a couple of pints of Guinness, the server recognised that we were from Ireland and we got a free round - cant say fairer than that! we only visited the downstairs bar, and its great, feels authentic, staff are very pleasant and service was good. I would love to go back for food!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Davids0ns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 681 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

This place is so popular, it doesn't even need a happy hour. That may not suit everyone. It's smaller portions of food are still devine tasting and well it does have a great pint of Guinness. A long narrow bar with saw dust on the floor awaits you with a good atmosphere as the sloggers of the financial district slug down their after work delights. The bar is called The Dead Rabbits and has Bill Cutting on the sign which is a bit contadictory but sure who cares!! worth checking out.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank endaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I was on business and needed a quick bite while solo one evening. This place is well rated and close to my hotel. It's full of character, and fascinating place to hang out. Very cozy, at least on the first and second floor - the third floor was closed this evening. Caveat#1: every floor has its own personality and a distinct drink menu, so choose what suits you - or what's available. (I was told they all have the same food menu.) I settled in on 2nd floor, which specializes in cocktails - I'm a beer drinker, sad they only had 5 beers to choose from, but they clearly had an amazing selection of creative cocktails. Caveat#2: the high ratings for this place are for the drinks and atmosphere; my dinner (chicken pot pie) was good but not outstanding. This is not a complaint - it's a pub, after all, not a fine restaurant - but just keep it in mind.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Loved this place. It really does feel very hip and trendy. Arrived here on a Friday evening and the downstairs bar was full of office workers enjoying a few pints before they left the city. We headed upstairs to the parlour and were lucky enough to get a table where we enjoyed some great pub grub served by the friendliest staff. The cocktails were out of this world (and strong too!). Can't wait to go back and visit again.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Avdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This bar is friendly and full of memorabilia. Easy to spend a few hours with a few friends. The beer selection was also very good

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Dead Rabbit also viewed

 

Been to The Dead Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.