We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Times Square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Ranked #105 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Close to Times Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My daughter and I had a 2 night stay in New York City in October, at this hotel, very clean and quiet the staff were fantastic and the location was perfect walking distance to just about everything. Although the breakfast room was small the food was plentiful and quite good. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for such a great review!

You summarize everything about the Best Western Premier Herald Square very effectively in your own words "very clean and quiet the staff were fantastic and the location was perfect walking distance to just about everything".

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you,We look forward to having you and your daughter visit with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    609
    122
    26
    8
See reviews for
586
486
64
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is in the heart of NY, near all the important and interesting tourist sites. There are restaurants, coffee shops, cafeterias, and shops surrounding it. The hotel is small but is comfortable. It was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The only downside to it that you could hear every sound. But I was fine with it because I spent the whole time outside touring the city and indulging all the good food they have in the city. Breakfast was good especially for people who like eggs, bacon, bagels, and other sweets. There was coffee and tea 24 hours in the lobby which was great. I definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is small, the rooms were small too. I cannot tell which room is good because I stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. As you have mentioned that "The hotel is in the heart of NY, near all the important and interesting tourist sites". We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you took full advantage of our ever famous Hot Complimentary Breakfast Buffet. Our staff strives to provide a great experience for our guests.

Again, we thank you, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Pretty good hotel in the center of Manhattan. Decent price. Good breakfast. Nice personnel. Lot of things to do around; shopping, sightseeing, museums. Everything is easy to reach. The hotel also has a convenient agreement with a parking garage that is literally in a very close distance. If I have a chance, I will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Oleksiy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Best Western Premier Herald Square. I truly appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and delighted to read that you enjoyed our Hot Complimentary Breakfast among other amenities.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to having you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location near Times Square and Penn Station. Room was clean and comfortable although quite small. We were in the back room on the 8th floor and it was quiet (away from elevator). Good experience - would stay here again. Got the room with two double beds and was fine for two people (myself and adult son)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank renePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. We are really glad that you appreciated and enjoyed our Clean and Comfortable room.

Thank you again and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
289 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a trip to New York with 7 friends to see the Christmas lights. The hotel was very clean and it is less than 2 blocks to Macys and the subway. It is very convenient to get around New York. I only used a taxi one time and that was getting back to the airport. Although the rooms are small, we were able to fit 4 women in each room. The breakfast was good and free! They had a nice selection each morning with usually an egg and hot meat included along with cereals, bagels, and fresh fruit. They have a decent happy hour M-F until 7. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjohnbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate your feedback and review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. I am delighted to know that you took full advantage of our hot and elaborate breakfast buffet and enjoyed our "Happy Hours" in our Premier Lounge.

Thank you and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is outstanding, very upscale. Great amenities, very comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms, great hot/free breakfast. We will definitely stay here again. Great location for sights in NYC, near Times Square and Rockefeller Center.Really good restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are pleased to read that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Premier Herald Square,NYC and enjoyed the level of service and quality.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square for 4 nights with my mum and sister in October. This seems to be a really new hotel that has been squeezed in between two other tall buildings – our cab driver couldn’t find it initially and had to do some tricky manoeuvring on the street outside. The rooms were pretty small but big enough for the three of us for the limited time we spent in the room; when you are in a city like NYC you just need somewhere to rest your head! It was all really nicely fitted out and the shower was huge! The location is really good, just minutes from the Empire State Building, Macy’s and the shops on 42nd Street. There are also some food options nearby such as 5 Boro Burger and there is a subway stop for Herald Square on the next block. We ate breakfast every day in the breakfast room (this was included in our rate) and we didn’t struggle for seating/have to queue. There were different hot options each day along with bagels, muffins, cereal etc. We did eat early (jet lag) and noticed that by about 8.30am it was getting busier. We enjoyed happy hour drinks in the bar most afternoons where the staff were lovely and it was never too busy. The only real negative was on our departure – we asked about transport to the airport and they booked us a cab but this actually turned out to be a towncar which would have charged us over double what we’d pay in a yellow cab. A bit annoying but we flagged down a cab outside the hotel instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenjones610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. Our location is unsurpassed and we are pleased that our location met your expectations. We are glad that you took full advantage of our hot Complimentary breakfast and enjoyed "Happy Hours" in our "Premier Lounge".
However, I really apologize for the misunderstanding about your transportation to the airport. I can assure you that your comments will be addressed to the correct departments and I will be looking into this myself.

Thank you once again for your nice comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing