We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Perfectly Formed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Ranked #100 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but Perfectly Formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I want to start by saying I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The points I am going to make are observations rather than criticisms.

We chose this hotel specifically because it is reasonably new and we were pleased to find it is not yet rough around the edges. When we first arrived we were a bit taken aback by the smallness of the room but I understand that this is usual in NYC. It did not affect our stay at all so unless a large room is important to you this would not be a problem.

In contrast to the small room the shower was lovely and big. It was powerful and we always had plenty of hot water. The hairdryer was brilliant too - better than my own!

The room only has a coffee maker. No kettle so no freshly boiled water for a ‘proper’ cup of tea. There were urns of coffee and hot water in the foyer by the lift. A welcome touch after a hard days sight seeing as we could grab a drink on the way to our room.

The complimentary breakfast was fine. There was something for everyone. We didn’t use the bar.

Finally I would say that I expected a view of the Empire State Building. We had a view of the street. This was entirely my fault for not researching this properly beforehand. The street was noisy but that was no problem to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alijay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    623
    124
    27
    9
See reviews for
601
493
68
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, near the beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, we stayed there 1/25/14 (Saturday night). We live in New Jersey about 90 minutes to NYC. I parked at Journal Square, Jersey City, no parking hassles. We took the ‘PATH’ train to Penn Station NYC. The hotel is 2 blocks from the station, great location. This hotel is less than a year old and very clean. The rooms are compact, but my wife & I had no problem with the small space. We did say, as a couple, we could not stay more than 2 nights in this size of a room. If either of us were here alone on business there would be no problem with this room for 3 or 4 nights. It is easy walking to fine restaurants, shopping and activities. We had tickets to a Broadway matinee show Sunday and were able to walk the short 10 blocks. This hotel has a nice bar lounge on the first floor the prices are very reasonable for NYC. They even have a ‘Happy Hour’ weekdays 3-7. There is no restaurant in this hotel. They do provide a free breakfast which is typical Best Western not bad/not great. We were satisfied with this self service meal (saved about $40 not having to buy breakfast). The hot items were pancakes, sausage patties and eggs (I think these are frozen and heated for breakfast, this was not a problem for us). There was a hot chafing dish with oatmeal that my wife enjoyed. The coffee was good and a good selection of tea. There were pastries, breads, cold cereal, fresh fruit & yogurt to choose. The lobby has free hot coffee & tea all day. The value of this hotel is very good for NYC. The staff is very professional and treated all with respect. This is a small boutique hotel, less than 100 rooms. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who does not need a large plushy room. Because of its location, cleanliness, value & great staff we will be back next time we want a room in midtown Manhattan.
Enjoy, Chuck-06

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for the kind sentiments that you have shared about your time at The Best Western Premier Herald Square. We endeavor to provide a very unique and welcoming atmosphere, so I am overjoyed that you felt this commitment during your stay.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice place, good, safe location. Very clean room. Staff was excellent and very willing to help in any way they could. Breakfast was OK, crowded but plenty of food and a nice variety. Room was pretty small, but fine. TV remote was clean and had its own special "notice of disinfection" bag. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback and review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Our staff strives to provide a great experience for our guests.

We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Cute little gem of a hotel. Great service from every employee. Hotel is 3 blocks from Macy's and about a 10 minute walk from Times Square. Lots of Irish bars on this street. The only thing I had a problem with was the internet speed. It is complementary though. Breakfast was very good. Fantastic shower! The bar lounge is cozy with a fantastic bartender! Rooms are Typical size for hotels in NY. Overall good stay!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lolita1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
"Cute little gem of a hotel. Great service from every employee'. Thank you for the wonderful review about Best Western Premier Herald Square and our wonderful staff . We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. Our location is unsurpassed and we are pleased that our location met your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed our Hot Complimentary Breakfast and our Cozy Lounge with a "Fantastic Bartender".

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The best hotel for the price. Very clean and comfortable room! Excellent & friendly staff! Room was very small, but considering it is New York it was ok. Breakfast was OK, it had the basics for a Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank carmena179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your review mentions it all, location, cleanliness, breakfast and last but defenitely not least our great staff that does make the difference.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a reasonably new property in the heart of mid-town Manhattan. Close to Macy's and a short subway ride from Central Park. The rooms are terribly small which is understandable considering the premium on space in Manhattan. Breakfast was disappointing with not eggs although I believe the web site claimed that eggs were included. They gave us a breakfast voucher for two people despite us being four in our party. They gave us $8 off the parking fee of $43 at a nearby indoor parking lot. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orencio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate your comments about the Best Western Herald Square, "This is a reasonably new property in the heart of mid-town Manhattan. Close to Macy's and a short subway ride from Central Park".

However, we would like to apologize that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We will be sure to pass your comments on to the appropriate departments for subsequent action and make sure that all breakfast items mentioned are always available to our guests.It's our goal to exceed guest expectations and make your stay more than average.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Great Location especially for walkers and those using public transportation. Couldn't reset the clock and never was able to figure out the thermostat. Neither were major issues for a single night, so I never reported it until checkout. Would definitely stay there again and would also recommend the hotel to others. Great hot breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SoloRider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and its services. We are also glad that you liked and took advantage of our famous Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip to NYC. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing