We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Ranked #99 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Herold Square on Sat April 26 and had a great time. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, great location. It's about 10 minutes' walk from Penn Station. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portcreditboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    653
    127
    28
    11
See reviews for
653
518
73
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I spent a night at Best Western Premier on 36th Street in New York and have nothing but compliments. We chose the hotel after reviewing the extensive feedbacks on here on trip advisor: (Who doesn’t?) We weren’t disappointed. They receive top grades from us in every category. Unfortunately we weren’t in New York for longer than 2 days but, even for longer stays we wouldn’t hesitate on choosing them

Impressively, at a time when so many hotels boast of well thought out decorative themes, this hotel nails it perfectly. Best Western has definitely upped their game.

The breakfast has a reasonably satisfying broad selection of items but get there in good time as space is limited; Waiting time for a table however, isn’t too lengthy. If there is something you need that isn't available, ask and you might be surprised.

Of course the finest hotel without a courteous staff means nothing. I am taking the opportunity to thank everyone their help and a memorable stay. Lou thank you so much for your kindness; the staff in the breakfast kitchen for the hot cocoa and lactose free milk and Zuleika who goes beyond the call of duty and is as exceptional as her name. Keep it up and Thank you all.

Smith Family, Sweden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurrencee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankara
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

very good location.very close to herald square. We stayed in a two queen bed room. The room was not too small but ofcourse not too big. This is NY. I have been to NY many times this was the biggest room I stayed. The hotel was very clean, housekkeping was good. Breakfast was good. If I go again I will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zokte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Typical size room for NYC. Staff was able to accommodate our early arrival with room key. Stayed in Room 701, right off the elevator. No elevator noise to note. Street noise at all hours, but after all--this is New York and those people never sleep. Bring a white noise machine if you are a light sleeper. No trouble with heat/air. Bedding was nice, fresh towels each day, in house breakfast was great--different items each day. Hotel can hold bags after check out for last minute shopping. Front desk staff very kind in pointing out local restaurants, street navigation, etc. Didn't visit the lobby bar. Location of hotel was perfect--just a few blocks from Yellow/Red/Orange lines. Purchase the 7-day Subway card for ease in getting around.

Shout Outs: Lou--totally enjoyed meeting him, learning about his family and shoe collection (Happy Birthday); Zuleeka--lovely gal, hospitality professional; Mustafah--professional and helpful; Kitchen/Breakfast ladies--always refilling food, cleaning tables, making sure all were happy, they totally ROCKED!! A+ Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This property is fairly new at a year and change. Really amazing how they were able to squeeze in a hotel in such a narrow space. Being new describes the condition so nuff said. Only 6 rooms per floor so hallway noise is easily heard in quest rooms. The opening and closing of stairway doors are excessively loud. Street view rooms are next to lifts and chimes are heard through guest room doors. Complimentary breakfast does get crowded after 8 and seating can be a wait. The staff is exceptionally friendly. The location is great especially for shopping with Macy's just around the corner. 34th and Herald is around the corner for the orange and yellow lines. However, 34th and Penn is a little farther if you are with luggage but absolutely doable. Do have a look at the bars and restaurants on 36th for most are fabulous. Construction is in progress next door so keep that in mind. Overall this was a pleasant experience and we will definitely look into this property on our next trip. Aloha!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor which made navigating the stairs possible when lifts were busy. Smaller ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oc1Waveblader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My mum, my daughter and I stayed here recently on our '3 generations' trip to NYC and we really really pleased with our choice. I can only reiterate what others have said - small but clean and nicely decorated rooms (with efficient air con) and very friendly and helpful staff (I must mention Lou who was really helpful getting all our luggage out and arranging our taxi to JFK - much appreciated). We had rooms on the tenth floor and didn't experience any traffic, elevator or construction noise, though perhaps we were too exhausted from our busy days to notice:). Breakfast was a good added extra - there was a lot of choice (juice, teas, coffee, yoghurts, bagels, cereals, pancakes, sausage/bacon, egg patties, toast etc etc). Although the breakfast room was small, we always found a space to eat. Location-wise, we found it ideal to be between 5th and 6th avenues to go up or downtown by bus (or across on 34th street to the High Line) and just around the corner from the tube which we took to go to Battery park and also Brooklyn. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a good value, clean and comfy option.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank verve80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel has a great location in Midtown. Lobby bar is well-stocked and bartenders are helpful and personable. Rooms are small, but NYC is perhaps known for that. Biggest disappointment was the very tiny bathroom with no room for shelving toiletries and no closet or anyplace to hang clothing. We had to keep all clothing in suitcases until needed. Nice patio in front ot hotel is available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 466 in New York City
738 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 466 in New York City
701 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#179 of 466 in New York City
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 466 in New York City
2,090 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#85 of 466 in New York City
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Herald Square

Property: Best Western Premier Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing