We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Ranked #101 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay !!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night of May 10th 2014. I'm a Best Western Diamond Club member and really enjoyed the stay here. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff per usual were great and extremely helpful. The area is filled with shops and great restaurants. I have always enjoyed this area of the city. The rates cannot be beat for NYC. Will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joel1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    644
    127
    28
    11
See reviews for
636
507
72
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Whatever problems we had with the room were solved quickly and pleasantly. The rooms were very clean and inviting. Breakfast was included, and had a varied buffet menu. The staff made sure that the next morning lactaid milk was available for me; all done with a smile. Coffee, tea, and lemon water are available in the lobby 24 hours a day. The hotel is well located: within walking distance of Penn Station, buses, subway, shopping and all. The room prices are high as are most New York hotels in this category.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 669enida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Let me first say I would stay here again. The staff is excellent. The hotel is clean, new, and for the price - $110.00 a night booked six months in advance - how could you beat it?

Two cons: the full breakfast. We went one morning, and it was less than satisfactory that we decided to skip it the next two mornings. We aren't all that picky, and it will do just fine to load up on carbs before touring the City, but it tends to get very over crowded in breakfast room, and we didn't want to wait for it.

Last con would be how noisy it can get around 3:00 - 4:00 a.m. It isn't the hotel that gets noisy. It is the bar across the street letting out.

I would stay here again for all other reasons I mentioned. Affordable, clean, great location, etc., etc.

Room Tip: Away from the bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The staff was fantastic, so was the location, we walked to times square many times. Great price is what got us there but my only issue is that the walls are quite thin. Unfortunatly we had a mother/daughter beside us that decided to have an off/on 2 hour argument so it kept us up that night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Burgman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

brand new perfectly located hotels with very friendly and caring personnel!
Spent 4 days there in Nov 13.
pros - location, staff, freshness. The place is perfectly clean. Excellent and free of charge WIFI
cons - limited space in the room. Expected though, taking into account price per sq in such a location

Room Tip: if space in the room is not a problem this is the hotel for you in NY
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was everything it claimed to be. We were not in the least disappointed. Close to the subway and steps away from Macy's in Herald Square. We had a nice view of the Empire State Building from our window. It was quite busy for breakfast each morning but we never had to wait more than 5 min.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GHT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto GTA, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hubby booked this hotel in Herald Square as it was walking distance to most of the sites we wanted to see. I have to admit, he did a great job of it. Though it is literally 6 rooms per floor, 3 in the front and 3 in the back with the elevator in the middle.

We stayed from March 9 to 14, 2014 (March Break for our kids).

The positives, it was within walking distance to Times Square, Empire State Building, The New York State Public Library, The Museum of Modern Art, Grand Central Station, etc. The breakfast food was typical danishes, bagels, coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit. The staff were great at replenishing the items and very helpful.

The negatives, the room was small (2 double beds) for myself, hubby and 2 teen girls. I guess as this hotel is so central, the breakfast hours of 6:30 am to 9:30 am doesn't allow tourists to sleep in a bit before getting a bite. (I solved this by grabbing a few items & bringing it upstairs for the sleepyheads lol.)

We plan on visiting NYC again & this hotel is definitely at or near the top of the list for our next stay.

Another plus, plus was the staff was always helpful and courteous. The concierge was also helpful in suggesting places he would eat at. Nothing beats eating at places the locals eat it.

After checking out and just before we entered the Lincoln Bridge, our teen realized she had possibly left her cellphone in the room. We managed to make our way back to the hotel & the front desk was kind enough to let hubby and daughter up to check the room unescorted. We did find her phone. We are grateful to the staff in helping avoid a long ride home with an inconsolable teen.

Room Tip: Though we were on the 14th floor facing West 36th St. we could hear the traffic and the garbage truc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#180 of 468 in New York City
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#168 of 468 in New York City
2,070 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#148 of 468 in New York City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Herald Square

Property: Best Western Premier Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing