We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, coming back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Ranked #101 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, coming back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very good experience at this hotel. Worth the money and the view is great. Also extremely close to the empire state. Close to the subway as well. The decor was outstanding and I loved the new york themes picture frames in the room. Shower was very nice. Staff was very friendly. I have stayed at over 20 hotels in New York in the past 3 years. This one is in my top 3 for sure. The free breakfast is very good and kept very clean. I will be returning here for all my future stays. They need more Best Western Premiers throughout New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirvesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    621
    123
    27
    9
See reviews for
600
490
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel, while it has many floors, it is on very small real estate. That means relatively small rooms. Other than that, it was great. Very modern and clean, free Wifi, and great staff who are very friendly. Steps away from Keen's Steakhouse at the corner. If driving to NYC, you may want to park at Meyer's parking on 35th btwn 5th & 6th, instead of icon across the street from the hotel. A short walk can save you $20 a night. This can add up when staying a few nights.

Helpful?
Thank lsoreal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night at this hotel and had a delightful experience. It started at check-in - the receptionists were patient with us when we took 25 mins to rearrange our luggage before checking our bags prior to the check-in time. We ended up getting into our room early, but we were nervous to find our room on a lower level right across from the elevator. Thankfully that was unwarrented - the room was sound-proof. The bathroom was beautiful. Not only was it clean and well stocked, it had a great layout. One of the best showers I have ever taken. In the morning there was free breakfast, which was yummy (yay free!) and then we headed to the subway. As we checkes out, we got more excellent service. An employee let us know that we could check our bags with the hotel for the remainder of the day for free. This made our trip far more enjoyable since we didn't have to lug our bags and we wouldn't of thought to ask for the service. Basically, the employees catered to our every need - even the ones we didn't know we had. The Penn station stop was only a few blocks away, which made it easy to use public transit to get around. They are also walking distance to Bryant Park, which is great, and Times Square. The one caveat is that the rooms are small. It was a bit crowded with three of us in the room. For the low price we paid though, it was more than adequate and clean as a whistle. New favorite NYC hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponder, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this Best Western for 1 night precruise. The front desk personnel were so helpful, they stored our luggage (a massive amount, thanks to our adult daughter coming) so that we could go sight seeing, had our room ready by 1:30 pm and accomadated our request for extra pillows and a blanket with a smile. The room is not huge but very well laid out and the bathroom shower was huge. Everything was very clean. We loved the water, coffee and tea available in the lobby, especially after trekking around NYC for hours. The location was excellent, very close to the Empire State building so we had nice views whenever we walked anywhere. Definitely make the trek to Best Bagels, super yummy bagels. The breakfast at the hotel was very filling, not awesome but enough choices for us. They were also willing to give us a little leeway on check out time or hold our luggage for us again. All in all a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebl32262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Loved this hotel! Very clean and beautifully decorated in very clean lines and modern in style. The staff was well trained and provided the most professional and caring help we would have not expected in a very busy city like NYC on a holiday weekend. The hotel is only 3 blocks away from the Empire State Building one way and 3 blocks the other way from the Chrysler Building. 5 blocks from Times Square and around the corner from Bryant Park. Accessibly close to everything we wanted while traveling with children ages 10 and 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Serguei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, NL, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Herald Square for 4 nights over the July 4th holiday. It's a great location - walking distance to the subway, Broadway & Times Square. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My father, my sister and I stayed 2 nights at this Best Western in New York city and it was a great experience! Rooms are clean, well decorated, comfortable and cozy (even tho a bit too small...we didn't have much storage and we didn't have a freezer). Breakfasts - in which you get many good choices - are included so it makes the experience very convenient. The location is also very convenient since you are pretty much close to everything and at two steps away from 5th avenue.

The most memorable thing to us was however how professional and cool the staff was: We actually had a misadventure which started by a police agent who unfairly gave us a parking ticket, cause we were apparently not supposed to be parked in front of the hotel during the few minutes of our check in. The front desk staff witnessed it and one of the lady wrote us a letter for us to contest our ticket, telling that it was an unjustified one. It was so nice from her and it happened to be so helpful since we went to the office of New York - where we can contest tickets - and we were proclaimed NOT GUILTY! Thank you guys you're the best!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Andrée P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing