We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show”
Review of Motown The Musical on Broadway - MOVED

Motown The Musical on Broadway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MOTOWN: THE MUSICAL is the real story of the one-of-a-kind sound that hit the airwaves in 1959 and changed our culture forever. This exhilarating show charts Motown Founder Berry Gordy's incredible journey from featherweight boxer to the heavyweight music mogul who launched the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Marvin Gaye, and so many more.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great show”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great show with great music! Interesting story line. Go to tkts booth, get there 2 hrs early on weekend for 1/2 price tickets, 80$, center orchestra, 5th row!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,536
    429
    131
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great music and historical perspectives”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great performances with insights into the journeys and challenges they faced. Very entertaining. We enjoyed the music and the viewpoints of the founder and artists alike.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tkoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Memories”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wonderful musical on the birth of Motown with excellent actors playing famous people of the time.

Thts Booth in Times Square sold us Mezzanine seats for $70. A bit high up but not an issue to enjoying the musical.

We lined up at TKTS at 6:00 PM and after 20 minutes had our tickets with a &:00 PM door opening. Dogs & pop from a street cart for a quick meal...good steamed hot dogs!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carefree2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“If you love Motown you will Love this show”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited June 14th - from UK and this was our last night in NY - wanted to see a show that was not in the London west end. What a great choice, if you like Motown YOU WILL LOVE THIS SHOW. All your favorite Motown songs are here and the whole musical just makes you want jump up and sing along. Diana Ross is excellent and when the Jackson 5 came on stage with little MJ the whole whole theater just erupted.
Be warned, You will leave the theater and be singing Motown songs all the way home .........

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough Motown!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the show. It was worth lining up for these discounted tickets on the day - however we would have been happy to pay full price. Just wished we could have got up and danced. Excellent performance by talented cast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Motown The Musical on Broadway also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing