We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”
Review of Clarke's Standard

Clarke's Standard
Ranked #4,633 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Needed something hot on a freezing cold Manhattan afternoon...so chose this place as many of my regular eateries were closed as it was Sunday. I paid just over $10 for a Turkey Combo. The order came quickly and I returned to my hotel. It was simply the most awful taste and texture I have experienced in a very long time! The burger seemed slimy and just cooked through and no more! The fries were nothing special either. Not a pleasant experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good burger”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a burger and fries. Was pretty good, not the best, not the worst I ever had. The place was pretty empty and we were served within 5 minutes

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Last meal in the city. Everybody told us to try it but we waited our last day to go for it. Why?? It was so good. The burger is perfectly cooked and you don't feel heavy after your meal. The place is vintage, feel like you are in a butcher shop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Just Another Very Ordinary Burger Joint”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

So I was here in late December for lunch. The restaurant had caught my attention as I was returning to the 6 train. And I popped in for lunch.

I chose the Farmers Chicken Combo.

The chicken was okay and their french fries were not out of the ordinary. Seating was a b it tight and soda fountain was unimaginative, but I did feel satisfied in the end. Would I come back probably not.

Only real plus, was the staff, who were very nice and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neil102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best milkshake I have ever tasted”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We ate twice at the Union Square restaurant, and both times we had meals that were amazingly tasty.

Between us we have tried the hotdog, double cheeseburger and honey mustard chicken. All were absolutely spot on, and served with a huge portion of tasty fries.

My favorite had to be the chocolate candy cane crunch milkshake, Oh my word, that was the best shake I have ever tasted in my life!!

Please come and open some shops in the UK!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke's Standard also viewed

 

Been to Clarke's Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing