We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“National Ice Cream Day Is Over, But Ice Cream Sandwiches Are Always In At Melt Bakery”
Review of Melt Bakery

Melt Bakery
Ranked #134 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“National Ice Cream Day Is Over, But Ice Cream Sandwiches Are Always In At Melt Bakery”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Now, this local and sustainable ice cream sandwich company, has their own store front on the Lower East Side where they’re making the cookies and ice cream fresh on site. I had their Thick Mint (Crackly Chocolate Cookies and Peppermint Ice Cream). This ice cream sandwich makes a frozen Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookie look like a poor man’s treat. The chocolate cookie has just the perfect amount of chew, with a great chocolate flavor and crunch from the large sugar granules confecting the top. The ice cream is cool and refreshing (obviously it’s cold, but cool from the peppermint flavor), and creamy, without being overly rich. 

You can read my full review with photos at http://sprungonfood.com/2014/07/21/melt-bakery/

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprungonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
395 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cookie Sandwiches!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The ice cream cookie sandwiches are really delicious. They have unique combos and each one i have had were really good and worth the spluge. They arent too frozen either, so when you get it it only take a few mins to get soft enough to start eating. Just perfect for a summer day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Level Contributor
1,010 reviews
720 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Sandwich Heaven”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great day walking around the lower east side,and no better way than finishing at the Melt Bakery for one of their ice cream sandwiches.I had the red velvet filled with white cheesecake ice cream my wife had something chocolate.My only complaint is they are small and you want to eat two,but you do not want to seem like a pig.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very yummy!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Super tasting ice cream sandwiches. Really glad I sought this place out. We had the classic and chocolatey one (without peppermint) and both were very tasty!

Helpful?
Thank kulupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best ice cream cookie sandwich ever”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've been to Melt several times & have never been disappointed. Whenever I go to the city we have to go there :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melt Bakery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Melt Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing