We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Brilliant”
Review of Pippin The Musical - CLOSED

Pippin The Musical
Attraction details
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Brought my wife as a birthday treat without actually knowing what to expect as it isn't a show we knew much about. At first you think it is some odd Cirque homage with a strange tale wrapped around it about Charlemagne and his son. The first half is brilliant in the way the circus acts and illusions are integrated into the story and become part of the tale.

However, once you move past intermission, and the story takes a sharp turn into darker areas, you suddenly realise that the first act itself was the illusion and that the show has been misleading you all along as to its true nature. I love that it can meld great physical acts with more serious concepts around the sacrifices we make as we become adults.

We truly didn't know what to expect and I highly recommend watching this true gem - it is a joy to watch, moves you to laughter and leaves you with more things to ponder on than your average musical

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    149
    75
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pippin a pip”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a terrific show. Yes, it is odd. Yes, the second act is just plain weird. It doesn't matter. The staging is astonishing. The performances of the leads exemplary, in particular Patina Miller (Leading Player) and Rachel Bay Jones (Catherine). Also a stunning cameo from Andrea Martin who showed age is no barrier to star quality. The music is lovely, the acrobatics adds an element that makes this production stand out. Highly recommend the show - if you can get a ticket.....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I didn't think I would like this and I didn't...I loved it! Great show. Wonderful cast, staging, choreography. Better than the original.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, amazing, amazing!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had no idea that I was going to fall in love with this show and its cast. PIPPIN is the best musical I have ever seen. Simply amazing. It's a MUST SEE! I'm going to see it again next week! Lucky me.. ;-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A cross between broadway and cirque de soleil”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a very entertaining show with wonderful voices, dancing and acrobatics. It wraps you in incredible performances and astounding acrobatics. The story is fairy tale thin, but the performances more than make up for this. A thoroughly enjoyable broadway quality show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pippin The Musical also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing