We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality reasonably priced hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vass, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good quality reasonably priced hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel exceeded all my expectations. It was in a fabulous location- right by Fifth Avenue! The hotel room was big enough for two people and was nicely decorated. Very clean! I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchrdevl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi tchrdevl,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will consider us again for your future trips to New York. We greatly appreciate the 5-star rating and your great review. Safe travels and we will see you next time!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    402
    80
    16
    11
See reviews for
308
344
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Yes, families with adult-sized children, you can travel to New York City! This hotel has rooms with two Queen beds, rather than just double/full beds. Believe me, when planning our trip to NYC I was hoping for something more interesting for >$400/night than a Marriott-chain hotel in Midtown Manhattan. However this hotel suited our needs well: two comfortable Queen-sized beds, free WI-FI that worked every time, refrigerator/microwave, free breakfast available, a “city view” room with no street noise and an extraordinary view of the Empire State Building, and accessible: the evening walk to Broadway shows is very easy and the daily walk to the very useful 6-Train (Green Circle) subway is easily done on 5th Ave. The disadvantages: free breakfast closes at 9AM and is utter chaos (best to use the tray under your room’s mini coffee maker and bring some coffee/food up to your family; note to international travelers: this is morning fuel, not a good breakfast), no decent surrounding restaurants (we ended up walking 3 blocks to Heartland Brewery at street level of the Empire State Building a few times when too tired to seek out something more exciting). The room was cleaned properly every day and front desk staff is friendly and reasonably helpful; a problem with our air conditioner one night was fixed the next day without incident. In short, we would stay here again and recommend it for its utility.
Some NYC transportation tips: taxi for 4 people and 4 bags from LaGuardia Airport to the hotel during a Monday evening rush hour cost $43 with gratuity (husband had to sit in front with the driver which we did not want to repeat), car service from hotel to LaGuardia (arranged by the front desk the night before) cost $55 inclusive of gratuity and was worth it. Lastly, buy a reusable/reloadable MetroCard during your first trip on the NYC subway (each trip is $2.50/person no matter where you go); $25.00 per person loaded on a MetroCard (cash or credit) lasted our whole 1-week trip. Have fun in The Big Apple!

Room Tip: City View room had no street noise and a very, very nice view of the Empire State Building; worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyMtnFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello Rockymtnfamily,

Thank you for staying with us for your New York City trip! I appreciate you choosing our hotel with the many options that you have to choose from here in the Big Apple. I see that you were very happy with your room and that it had two queen beds. As you mentioned, it is rare that you can find a room in New York with two queen size beds, free breakfast, and a microwave and fridge in your room. I apologize that you had a tough time during breakfast service. We try to encourage guest’s to come down earlier rather than later as the largest rush usually comes within 45-mins until the time breakfast is over. I hope that you will consider us again for your next trip to New York and that you had a safe trip back home to beautiful Vail, CO.

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A relatively new hotel approx. 12 months old.
Very clean, modern, colourful with free Wi-Fi.
Rooms not huge but did manage to find homes for suitcases and other travel paraphernalia.
Bathroom was a good size. Toilet in bathroom, so if you want privacy only one person at a time. Can't have someone in the shower and on the toilet at the same time.
Big advantage is that the room has a fridge, coffee/tea making facilities and a microwave. Used the m/wave a few times after buying food from delicatessen across the road that needed re-heating.
Bed very comfortable. Sheets and quilt reasonably good quality.
Wardrobe is small. Didn't bother unpacking. Used it as storage for small bags and items bought when shopping.
Breakfast is included. More than enough choice on offer. Originally had the impression that it would be cereal and coffee only. Can't imagine anyone not being happy or being unable to find something to eat. Items included: cereal x 3, porridge, many types of bread and bagels, eggs (usually scrambled) + one other different hot accompaniment each morning (bacon, baked beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, et al), juice, hot drinks, muffins, yoghurt, fresh fruit, nuts, dried fruit, jams, honey. maple syrup. More than enough to start the day. Papers were also usually scattered about. Only complaint is the design of the area. Quite cramped if there were lots of people at same time. Needs a re-think. Or "traffic directions". If everyone moved in the same direction the flow would be much better. But with people moving from the toaster back to the hot food or to get a drink while waiting for toast = chaos!
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great if this is a first visit to the city.
Location was perfect. Another hotel (starts with B) near Central Park was recommended by a few people. Popular with Aussies (and kids). So glad it wasn't chosen. In the middle of nowhere. Or at least nowhere we wanted to be. Too far from anything/everything, unless you have children and intend taking them to Central Park every day.
In a big city, you have to walk or at least take some form of transport. This is inevitable BUT you don't want to 'waste' time. Unless you are a millionaire, we are all on a limited budget and therefore a limited amount of time. You are attempting to cram as much as possible into the days you have. This hotel was fairly central to what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go.
A couple of restaurants in the street. An absolutely wonderful delicatessen across from hotel. Open quite late. Fabulous range of hot food, salads, sandwiches, drinks, alcohol, snacks, etc. At both ends of the street were souvenir shops. At end of street around corner there many different types of restaurants. Macy's was approx. 2 blocks away. JC Penney on the next block up. Empire State Building 2 parallel streets from hotel. (Had the most fabulous view of the ESB from hotel room. Bonus!) There was so much in the area to see and do. Very convenient.
On either side of hotel, were 2 other hotels. Priced them - dearer with no breakfast.
Absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to NYC for the first time. Loved it.

Room Tip: 1. Be at breakfast as soon as it opens - 6.30am - to avoid the rush. 2. Ask for a high street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nathalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello N L E,

Thank you for providing a very thorough review of your recent stay at our property. I appreciate you taking the time to cover all areas of the hotel, and highlight the areas in which you liked, as well as some suggestions for improvement. I am delighted to hear that you felt that the room, bathroom, fridge, microwave, and bed were all very fitting for your travels needs. As you mentioned breakfast can get crowded during the last 45 minutes so it is a great idea to come down early to beat the rush. Our staff takes great effort and pride in making our guest’s stays enjoyable, so I am glad that you found them to be of assistance. I hope that you will join us again for your next trip to New York.

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 7 nights here in June.
Stayed in a 2 double beds suite with our son and daughter( 20/23). Had a excellent view of the Empire State Building. The hotel has 19 floors, with only 10 rooms on each floor, so didnt feel massive, which was a plus forbus.
It did the job for us, being so central to everything, reasonable priced for the area and with breakfast included.
Just 5 minutes walk from the subway and from Macys.
Brilliant location for a first visit to New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front if the building and the Empire State building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HWW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello HWW,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you found our hotel fitting for your family trip to New York City. The view from our rooms with two queen beds is a great one, especially at night when the Empire State Building is lit up! I hope that for your next family trip you will consider our hotel again. Safe travels, and thank you again for your time and review.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Will return to this hotel when in NYC new and pleasant service managed by Marriott corp and it shows only negative is room trying to be a suite has to much furniture to move around in for 2 guests very nice free breakfast liked the shower

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VistaHost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello Vista,

Thank you for staying with us for your trip to New York. We appreaciate you taking the time to post a review on your experience, and we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, staff, and shower. As with many NYC hotels we try to maximize the compact space that we have in our rooms. I hope you will join us again for your next NYC trip.

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for three nights from boxing day. The complex was inviting and modern and well located. We walked everywhere!
Our room wasn't large but compared to some places we stayed at on our travels it wasn't the smallest and it was comfortable and bright. The bathroom was compact but again it was all we needed.
Breakfast was busy, if you get there at peak time it can be a juggling act to get a seat, but everyone was great and i found myself chatting to other guests and learning from more about NY. I did take a tray up to our room for my daughter (she liked a slow start to the day) which worked out fine.
I had some problems with the heating coming on and making a noise, it was checked out but they weren't sure what was causing it, it wasn't a big deal overall.

There is a great restaurant across the street for a nice meal (more upmarket).

I would return, it was good clean accommodation, a good location at a good cost with very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomebaseTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello HomebaseTauras

Thank you for the great comments on our staff service. The team was really excited to hear you enjoyed it. Our locations is perfect being so close to Times Square, Macy's and Fifth Avenue. Location is one of our top comments form our guests in addition to Service. I appreciate your understanding about the heat in the room. With summer here the system was switched over. We shared that with the team to enusre it wont happen again.

Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next trip back to New York

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

from the moment we checked in until the time we left, the staff was great. very friendly, very customer service oriented. the only things I would improve would be the breakfast buffet layout- too congested, with a lot of issues in guest flow through the area. hint- of you want something toasted, start at that station first as the toasters take forever-you can easily pop in your bagel or muffin and then fill the rest of your plate and get a coffee and be back before the toaster pops. we also had a hiccup with them with their placing more than one charge hold for the same amount on my card. needed to call them to have them remove the second hold amount. But again, great location and great staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threereheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Threereheads

Great Service is definitely what we provide and I am glad to hear that the staff worked hard to take care of your charge situtation. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is great and enjoyed by many so it can get busy in the morning, and I appreciate the tip.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 467 in New York City
612 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#105 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#167 of 467 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#197 of 467 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 467 in New York City
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 25 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing