We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Ranked #132 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

First time in NY we stayed Dec. 3rd-6th. We found it a great place to stay..location was walking distance to much of what we wanted to do. Rooms were clean and beds were great. The staff was very helpful with anything we asked. I didn't find the street noise to be a problem however we were on the 15th floor..The rooms not as small as I had heard (from what I had read NY hotel rooms are teensy tiny) We had three people in the room and didn't have a problem. Great pizza place down from hotel (Cafe Rustica)..Macy's across the street. I would highly recommend. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear stacey s,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that we met and perhaps exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having booked in at a hotel opposite and finding it WELL below par, we crossed the road and found this gem. A budget boutique hotel in the heart of New York. The room was small but perfectly formed. The staff, from the bell boy, to the manager we found welcoming and could not do enough for you. A very special thanks should go to the bar staff who welcomed us by name every evening. I could not fault this hotel and please believe me when I say this is an exceptional hotel and a great price with excellent staff and a credit to the Marriott Group!!

Room Tip: Great location, well placed for all the attrations shame it is not advertised by the main travel com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BromleySweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear BromleySweets,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our staff service. I will pass along your accolades to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great area. You have close access to the subway and you are fairly close to Penn Station. It's your typical Courtyard with a decent lobby and decent rooms. The street noise is horrible at this location and if the night club that is in the building is pumping the base prepare to hear it depending on what flirt they put you on. As a frequent business traveler to the city I decided to against.other similarly priced Marriott with better rates and no street noise. Pass this one up.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Dave B,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. We sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. With your candid feedback, we are working with our rooftop partners to ensure that all parties are comfortable during their stay. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights 11/23 and 11/24 prior to taking a cruise from NYC. The hotel is beautiful, clean and in a great location which would be enough for us to return anyway. However, shortly after checking out and boarding our cruise ship, we realized that our iPad had been left behind in the room. It had been last used late that night and put on the floor between the bed and the wall so we didn't even see it when we left. We couldn't leave the ship so we called the hotel and spoke with Mike to explain the situation. He had the room checked and sure enough, they located the iPad and held it in the safe for us to pick up upon our return. We dropped by the hotel on our way home, showed ID and continued on home with our iPad. I believe it was Louis who assisted us today. We truly appreciated the staff going the extra mile for us by locating it and holding it in safekeeping. We plan to return to NYC soon and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uzisuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear uzisuzi,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'll be sure to highlight Mike and Luis for the service they provided you. We'll be happy to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Total disappointment with this hotel . Despite being well located and the rooms are clean , made ​​a reservation for three ( 03 ) persons ADULTS , for the period 12/24/2013 to 12/30/2013 , six nights . Would be a vision for 6th Avenue Lobby , to see the parade of the Day of Thanksgiving Macy's . Arriving at check -in had just disappointment. The reservation was for a maximum of 3 adults but only ONE bed. How does one hotel in this standard provides a hotel reservation for three adults in one bed ! Pay attention when making a reservation because even with the help of Booking.com , where I made the reservation , I got a single bed for my son . The most that was provided in the duvet and pillows to put on the floor. ON THE FLOOR!!!! The staff Booking.com , even offered me another hotel , but as I had made several orders to be delivered at this hotel , I could not cancel the reservation . Also I booked with breakfast , which was no more than a cup of coffee or juice, a sandwich at 04 options , and if it were a case Bagels , the sandwiche , was entitled to another muffin .And only. Very poor breakfast. I was at a hotel in Niagara and at this was Buffet. This could only choose it, only!! Worst. On the day of the thanksgiving parade, closed part of the Lobby leading to the 6th Avenue for a particular event, and guests, who see to turn into the street! This plate without having any prior warning or a ban on this space. A shame. I paid much more expensive the hotel, instead of many other best, like the New Yorker and the Times Square Crowne where ever stayed. Totally mercenary and without regard to customer policy! For this deception and total disregard to the customer, not to nominate anyone!

Room Tip: When booking para3 adults, do not fall into the trap of choosing a room that only has a bed, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TC_2Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear TC_2Brazil,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. We deeply regret your experience at the hotel and offer our sincere apologies. We appreciate your candid feedback. Please contact me directly by dialing the hotel if you wish to discuss or share further feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Although it was pricey, this hotel offered great sized rooms and a prime location. Good options for eating both in the hotel and nearby. A close walk to public transportation. Great spot just not a pretty facade.rooms also had free wifi and a mini fridge!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank d511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear d511,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

just stayed 1 night but was really impressed. The bedrooms are spacious, the beds are probabally the most comfortable i have slept in ever. Just accross from Macy's and easy walk to Empire state building and Times square. It is expensive but you get value for money. Breakfast was a dissapointment as was from starbucks but did not allow you to have any mocha,late etc just basic and not very good coffee

Room Tip: back rooms are quiter but dont have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear elaine r,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got a good nights sleep. We also appreciate your genuine feedback, especially regarding our food and beverage offerings. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#127 of 473 in New York City
928 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#158 of 473 in New York City
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#149 of 473 in New York City
1,166 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#154 of 473 in New York City
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square

Address: 71 W 35th St, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-2112
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £113 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, one of the newest hotels in Midtown Manhattan NYC. Conveniently located in the heart of New York City near the famous Macy's Herald Square, this inviting hotel in Midtown Manhattan provides a contemporary retreat. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Table 71 Herald Square, your unique destination among Midtown Manhattan hotels for a great breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee.You will also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout our accommodations and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped Midtown Manhattan NYC hotel fitness center will keep you fit and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at our hotel in Midtown Manhattan NYC is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing