We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect NYC location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Ranked #109 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect NYC location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We come to NYC every year, always staying in a different hotel, looking for "the one". Guess what?? We found it.
The Heralds Square Marriott is the perfect hotel in the perfect location. I am traveling with my 12 year old son, and I picked this hotel based on the Marriott name and the location to the subway entrance. We bought 7 day subway passes, but we haven't used them once. We have easily walked to everything. I feel safe walking to and from the hotel at night.
Macys's is right across the street and the view of the Empire State Building at night from our room is magical.
The Marriott staff have been awesome. I will miss Jessie the night security guard, he is always smiling, gives great directions and seems like such a nice guy. Jose was great also. Our check in clerk Melisa (sorry if I spelled your name wrong), was superb!! I used the computers in the lobby once, and while there since I knew I would be leaving a review I paid attention to the 2 gentleman working the desk Monday. They were curteous and professional to the guests checking in.
Our room was always clean, and the housekeeping staff was wonderful.
We leave in the morning.....and neither of us want to go.

Room Tip: My 12 year old son and I shared a king room with a sofa bed. (Room 909) We enjoyed the 2 windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimsTrophyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JimsTrophyWife,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am so delighted to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay. Your accolades will be shared with the team, especially Jesse, Jose, and Melisa. We are very excited to be "the one" and can't wait to have you back again. Thank you for the review and we wish you safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    247
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
268
157
32
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Location in very congested part of the city but very central and convenient; subway stop right there. All the staff very nice; had a particularly nice experience w/ Michael the doorman (helped me w/ directions, grabbing a taxi and retrieving luggage). Rooms clean, beds comfy and amazingly quiet. Breakfast varies on what you order, is in comfortable dining area. I loved the coffee and oatmeal. Bathroom small but well stocked and good water pressure. Wish there had been an outlet next to bed to charge cell phone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuffedcabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear stuffedcabbage,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of Michael. All of your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay in this hotel was fantastic. When we first arrived we were greeted by Michael the doorman. He was very friendly and helpful. He was essentially the hotel's concierge. He oriented us to the hotel. The lobby for check-in is actually on the second floor. The rooms appear new and decorated in a contemporary fashion. There is a safe box and a refrigerator in the room. We were on the 11th floor. We still could hear sirens but essentially no street noise. There is a 24 hour snack vendor in the lobby. One can access the rooftop bar through the Monarch Bar. The view from there was decent but not spectacular. This hotel is a short block walk to the Empire State building and only a few blocks away from Times Square. Buy a subway ticket. It's the cheapest way to get around Manhattan. Michael, our doorman, arranged for a car service to LaGuardia for our departure. It was a standard $49 fee. The Lincoln town car was there on time and made our trip to the airport very easy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to this hotel next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Anthony T,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of Michael. We are proud to have him on the team and look forward to having you whenever you return to New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really nice hotel, we were upgraded and we were surprised how big and modern the room was. We also found that the location of the hotel was really good. You could walk to everything and didn't have to worry about transport. Plenty of restaurants near the hotel and also good shopping. Coming from another country we felt safe at the hotel with excellent doormen. It was good on the last day when we checked out and could leave our bags in storage and still go shopping for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear marianellwood,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Michael the doorman is the world's best! Great location, service, etc. Rooms are also very pretty with good views.

We also appreciated the friendliness of the maintenance staff. Rooftop bar is cool bonus!

We also like the cafe Martinique around the corner on 33rd. Great brunch! Hotel has easy access to many similarly situated restaurants like petit poulet

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of Michael. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights end of June/beginning of July 2014, myself and my 16 year old son. The location is fantastic - right near Macy's, right next to a subway station and therefore giving you easy access to any part of Manhattan plus loads of great shops right on your doorstep! The rooms are really nice, big TV, a/c, free Wifi, small fridge, safe, hairdryer, coffee maker plus supplies, lovely bathroom and walk-in shower, Paul Mitchell toiletries - all fab! Our room was on the 15th floor, so not much traffic noise (apart from a few sirens!) and we couldn't hear the rooftop bar much either. The staff are great - the receptionists are nice and friendly, Jose and Michael are both really helpful - nothing is too much trouble. We didn't have breakfast and I'm glad because it wasn't a 'proper' American breakfast - we went to a local coffee shop for that (Andrew's), recommended by the staff and it was fantastic - real pancakes and maple syrup (not out of a packet)! It was my son's first visit to the USA and he had a fantastic time - we did all the touristy stuff, Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, Statue of Liberty, a bus tour, a helicopter flight, Top of the Rock, 4th July fireworks display, a Yankees baseball game and a whole lot more....totally amazing and exhausting but I'd do it all again tomorrow, given another 5 years to save up the money again! I can't recommend this hotel enough - it is great!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 1508, which is on a higher floor and at the back of the hotel, with a city view - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear TJP1966,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay. We are happy to welcome you back each time you return to New York. Your accolades will be shared with the team, especially with Jose and Michael. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Can't beat this hotel for location, next door to Macys and Empire State. More expensive than Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn (next door on 35th) and Hotel 373 (5th & 35th) but rooms much bigger and more facilities & still good value for New York. Subway entrance right outside. Could be difficult to find as Reception on 1st floor rather than at street level, does look like you're going into the entrance to the fantastic Monarch rooftop bar with amazing views of Empire State. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank She-Devil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear She-Devil2006,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to being your hotel of choice in New York and wish to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#110 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#59 of 467 in New York City
519 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#134 of 467 in New York City
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Address: 71 W 35th St, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-2112
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, one of the newest hotels in Midtown Manhattan NYC. Conveniently located in the heart of New York City near the famous Macy's Herald Square, this inviting hotel in Midtown Manhattan provides a contemporary retreat. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Table 71 Herald Square, your unique destination among Midtown Manhattan hotels for a great breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee.You will also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout our accommodations and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped Midtown Manhattan NYC hotel fitness center will keep you fit and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at our hotel in Midtown Manhattan NYC is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing