We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Ranked #106 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem in fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here in mid July for 4 nights. We had a lovely room. Good size with a king size bed and a large sofa bed for our teenage son. Our room had a great view & a very nice bathroom. The doormen were super helpful and we got a very reasonably priced private hotel car to JFK. The location could not be better. A little gem - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parnelll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear VOVA,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your guest room and stay. We look forward to being your hotel of choice in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    258
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
279
169
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

To begin with, I was surprised how large the rooms were. In some New York hotels, there is barely enough room to fit the bed. In this case, there was more than enough room for the king size bed (x2) and the size of the bathroom was comfortably large.

While it was still utilitarian, it was very comfortable and not claustrophobic.

One note of warning: We were on the top floor and it was a weekend. The bar on the roof played rather loud music. You could clearly hear it while waiting for the 17th floor elevator. However, it was really hard to hear in the rooms (the soundproofing was amazing). If you are a light sleeper, you might want to go one more floor down if you're planning to stay on a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear HPLowry,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our guest rooms. We look forward to having you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our third time here in the past two years and had another great stay. Although this time we were not able to check in early as the room wasn't ready, Miguel was as personable, friendly and efficient as we've ever seen. Room was fantastic again with two double beds. Quiet enviornment. Free wifi. Starbucks located on the lobby floor. Taxi's readily available parked and lined up just outside on the street due to this and other hotels on the same block. Great location for walking to times square which we did for the theatre. Subway entrance is right outside the hotel for numerous lines which was very convenient and all others are within a block or two. Only item to note is that the disco/rooftop bar is on the 17th floor, I would have reservations of staying on the 16th floor just in case due to the late night crowd. We have made this our go to hotel now in midtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ivytravel,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are happy to have Miguel on the team and look forward to welcoming you back each time you visit New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good experience. The best thing is the location.
All main attractions in New York are easily reachable from here.
Also rooms are good and clean.
Staff was friendly.
Overall very good experience. Will recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jineesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear jineesh,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of our friendly associates. We look forward to having you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was probably the best experience I have every had at a Courtyard. This one is modern and updated. The staff at checkin were very friendly, and my room was ready at noon! The room was a bit small, but this is common for NYC.

I had a king room and it had an amazing view of the empire state building! The room was quiet overnight and they have a great breakfast area with a coffee bar that served pastries and hot breakfast. (Not free, but good prices).

The hotel was not crowded, like some large NY hotels. This made it even better!

The hotel also has a lounge at the top, that is an open rooftop bar with an upscale feel and amazing views. I recommend making a reservation though. Michael, the bellman, was very helpful in getting me a car setup for the airport, and gave me a great restaurant recommendation. Thanks again Mike!

The hotel is also very close to times square, maybe a 10 minute walk. Across from macys as well. Good area, lots of restaurants and things to do.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewjohnson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear andrewjohnson90,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a successful business trip. Your accolades and feedback will be shared with the team, especially Mike. We look forward to being your hotel of choice in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was modern and tastefully decorated, and the hotel and the room were clean. Good service at check-in. Location central and convenient and very close to a subway station. Pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Probably the higher the quieter but we were on the 7th floor and street noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deekay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Deekay9,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is convenient to so many things to do. Just wish I had more time, in town on business and stayed here one night. Close to Penn Station, MSG, Macys, Empire State Building, on and on. Subway stop 1/2 block away. Michael is a great help, get to know him. I'll be back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Gary J,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, despite it being only one night. I'll be certain to pass along your accolades to Michael. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#143 of 467 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Address: 71 W 35th St, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-2112
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, one of the newest hotels in Midtown Manhattan NYC. Conveniently located in the heart of New York City near the famous Macy's Herald Square, this inviting hotel in Midtown Manhattan provides a contemporary retreat. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Table 71 Herald Square, your unique destination among Midtown Manhattan hotels for a great breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee.You will also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout our accommodations and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped Midtown Manhattan NYC hotel fitness center will keep you fit and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at our hotel in Midtown Manhattan NYC is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing