We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, but wonderful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Epices

Aux Epices
Ranked #2,712 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: SoHo
Description: Aux Epices is a cozy Malaysian-French Bistro located in the Chinatown area of Huntington Beach. We specialize in healthy, tasty, natural food!
Paraza
Level Contributor
283 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Small, but wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Warm reception by the waiter and by the owner. The place is small but very efficiently laid out. The food was very good and priced reasonably. We had Crevette and Calamari a la plancha, Mango Avocado Roll, Chicken Istimewa and Chicken Rice Hot Pot, all wonderful dishes. The two tartes of the day were very good too, as was the Espresso. Since one of the owners seems to be French, the wine choices are well rounded and reasonably priced. Worth a return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Authentic and Concerned Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Pleasant little place that makes some effort to be authentic. In particular liked the concern (from the owner I presume) of whether everything was to my liking. My choices - duck roll (not exactly to my taste) and then curry chicken (soup) in a bowl. Authentic enough to have not a lot of chicken in the dish (that's not a complaint - it's how you would find the dish in Asia but some locals may be bemused).

Chose the thin rice noodles and they were just fine. Add in a Tiger beer and the damage was $22. Not bad considering.

Inside the decor and atmosphere is a little more luxurious and restrained than some of the other places in the locality.

Although I was in something of a rush on this visit I'll return. It has the makings of a regular place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a blend of flavors to sample in a great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Upon first glance the restaurant is small, but once inside you will see why. The atmosphere is inviting, friendly, and more of a gathering place then any other restaurant I have visited. The owners prepare the items on the menu and most of the time you will see them walking the room talking to the patrons. The menu is actual items from French and Malaysian regions, but with subtle flavors added to enhance the dining experience. I recommend the onion soup for an appetizer and the clay pot for dinner. If you want an after dinner coffee I would recommend it strongly be made by Lou. The price is very reasonable too. In a city where I have always rushed this was the one place I felt that I could just take my time and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakes419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A cozy spot for a quick (or long) tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I enjoyed my own pot of tea for very little cash when I was in Lower Manhattan for a business meeting. I was looking for a small place to host two clients and was thrilled with the great tea and high quality service. Having Miles Davis playing over the speakers was an added bonus. I will be back to try the food – Malaysian-French hybrids are rare in this area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smoothjazz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
187 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Malaysian food at its BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Cute little place. A little pricier than most in the Chinatown area but well worth it. It's not a fancy restaurant but cute cozy,casual , good food great service and Chef May at the stove cookin up a m
Malaysian storm. Lots of good items but ask for the right noodles. At the bottom of their menu they tell you what they have on their "noodle bar" if u don't ask for the right noodles of your choice they serve you udon noodles. That's the one thing wrong with this place ask for the right noodles and reject the udon....before u order. Satay, Rojak, udang pang gang, nasi lemak, satay tofu, chicken rending, laksa all good. Enjoy. Chef may is a star and very friendly. She will cook a dish jut for u if u ask I am no inched of that. I have been back four times

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeP2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aux Epices also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Aux Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing