We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”

Stephen Sondheim Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.75*
and up
Beautiful On Broadway
Ranked #191 of 1,078 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice theatre. Loved how the balcony was steep enough so the stage could be seen no matter the seat. However, it didn't provide much leg room. Great location also. Wonderful restaurant across the street & times square a block away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMTT1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My First Broadway Play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was my first trip to NY. I wanted to see a musical but opted for the play because it was cheaper. Bought the cheapest tickets and when we got there it wasn't sold out so they told us we could move to the front of the Mezzanine section....SCORE! Even if you had to sit in the back the Theater is not huge so you will still have a good view.

The play was very good. Its like a little story that starts off slow but continues to build up as it goes along. And how can you go wrong with Ms. Cicely Tyson, Vanessa Williams, and Cuba Gooding Jr....?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank misstiff21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently visited NYC to see the play, "The Trip to Bountiful". It was excellent, and the cast, led by the wonderful Ms. Cicely Tyson, was amazing. I would highly recommend the visit. Our seats were in the Orchestra section of the theater, and were very tight. If you're tall, I would recommend getting an aisle seat. In spite of it being a bit cramped, the view of the stage was excellent. We didn't miss a thing. Overall it is a beautiful theatre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
560 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great play in a well designed Broadway theatre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

"The Trip to Bountiful" was a most interesting and enjoyable play with excellent performances by the entire cast, especially Cicely Tyson who was a delight to watch. The Stephen Sondheim theatre on West 43rd Street is very different from many of the other Broadway theatres that I have been to and my seat in the 4th row of the mezzanine was excellent and since I purchased it through TDF, was priced very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stucolco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My entire family loved this play it was excellent. The cast were fantastic, the humour uplifting and worth the money. I wish I could go again my visit with a friend from the UK. This show is not a maybe it is a definite visit. Love all the cast xxx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank zag01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stephen Sondheim Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Stephen Sondheim Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing