We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margs And Guac And Tacos, Oh My” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calexico

Calexico
Ranked #6,797 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Margs And Guac And Tacos, Oh My”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Food trucks seem to be a dime a dozen in NYC. But, when one is successful enough to win Vendy Awards and stand the test of time (which is at least over a year, in my opinion), well, you know they're on to something good. Calexico is doing just that, and has since opened up a couple restaurant locations in addition to their trucks. I visited the Lower East Side location. 

Calexico is a real place, and at the restaurant, they're serving California-Mexican cuisine. To start, I ordered their Jalapeño Mint Margarita (jalapeño infused exotico silver, combier, mint, jalapeño, lime, agave). I really loved this drink, it had a really great kick of heat, but also refreshing from the sweetness of the agave, the citrusy lime and the coolness of the mint. 

You can read my full review with photos at http://sprungonfood.com/2014/04/23/calexico

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sprungonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Addicting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I constantly find myself craving the pollo quesadillas, the "crack" sauce is a must! I highly recommend Calexico for anyone in the mood for delicious and affordable mexican food in manhattan.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HilaryCianciolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Worth visiting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Unique NYC-influenced Mexican-style food. Plenty of options for vegetarians. The staff is very friendly too.


Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taz950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Quick and Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Really friendly staff,great drinks and great food. I go there when i cant think of any other place to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I am a big fan of Calexico- been to the Greenpoint location and now in the LES. Fun vibe, small but nice front terrace, great food, great drinks, and really not expensive at all. Menu of beer & shot combinations is a nice touch, makes it a good spot to go before heading out to the many bars in the surrounding area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IADN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calexico also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Calexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing