We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, unbelievably cheap!”
Review of Mamoun's Falafel

Mamoun's Falafel
Ranked #576 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, unbelievably cheap!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stopped here for a quick bite to eat because we wanted falafel. The food was delicious and I couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. Absolutely great value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    98
    32
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best falafel sandwich!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were fortunate to have come on a day when NYC was fairly uninhabited. We didn't have to wait on the usual long lines. Fast food that was actually fast!!! The falafel was excellent! It would have been worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulujune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best falafel in NYC!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Mamoun's was amazing. Super cheap sandwiches that are ridiculously good. Go with the falafel or hummus sandwich!

Helpful?
Thank cubang8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This falafel is overrated...sucked!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I LOVE falafel so was super excited to visit this hole in the wall joint. Unfortunately, it did not live up to the hype; the falafel sandwich was terrible! Don't bother!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLivesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Keep in mind this is essentially a small hole in the wall with two benches outside to sit down on if you're lucky, so the review is relative to casual restaurants. I ate here twice on a recent trip to NYC and the food is simply phenomenal. The falafel are exactly as described by so many people - the best i've ever had. The price can't be beat, two falafel sandwiches, two bottled waters and a hummous to share was around $11 - unbelievable! I'm not sure how they get their hummous so thick and creamy, they must have a seriously powered blender. Lots of tahini to give it extra flavour, and i'm positive they de-skin the chick peas to get it creamier. Whatever they do, this is serious street food - well worth a visit on your next trip. Right next to a few great music clubs as well. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dollarbillCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamoun's Falafel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mamoun's Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing