We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gigot

Le Gigot
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Gigot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,052 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: West 4th Street
Transit: A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Serving Provencal cuisine. Purity of ingredients and simplicity of preparation distinguish our specialties. Seasonal dishes are always introduced. A petite zinc bar, banquettes and floral arrangements foster a warm cozy ambiance, and an attentive staff ensures a customers' comfort and satisfaction.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We have been going to this beautiful cozy resturaunts for 10 years. We always make a reservation months ahead of our annual trip to NYC for the US Open. No more as their reputation seems to have gotten the better of them. The appetizers were very good but the entrees were far below par and our waiter spent no time with us and failed to even explain the chalk board specials. the owner, who we have always admired and adored, gave us a passing apology but clearly didn't want our feedback. She dismissed us with a "I didn't charge you for the entrees" but didn't really process our feedback and we not concerned about the cost. We hope they can go back to their quality roots for both food and service

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London/New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favorite place in all New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic French food that just gets better with time. Pamela and her team run this small, romantic space and maintain high standards in everything. Tables are small and close together and that creates the real bistro atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PortlandPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cozy Village Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had a lovely lunch yesterday with two friends. The seating is quite tight (welcome to Greenwich Village!) but the experience was wonderful. Agree with an earlier comment, the portion sizes are perfect, elegantly presented. Food was fresh. The chalk board displayed a short but tasty list of specials - including frogs legs and a nice striped bass. Service was excellent, friendly but not intrusive. And you can't beat the location. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astilbe_Arendsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband found this place while we were on vacation in NYC. We truly enjoyed ourselves. The risotto was amazing and so was the bass. Our waiter was very attentive to our needs. Had a wonderful time. the neighborhood was quaint and pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about them only taking American Express.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Lovely food, good wine, delightful room, attentive staff.
The charm of the staff faded at the end of the meal when they declined to consider our Visa card (good all over New York) explaining they only take American Express or cash, pointing out that an ATM was around the corner. Perhaps foolish of us not to check before ordering, but seriously chaps, Visa is used all over NYC, and as a French restaurant you should consider your European clients! Why not tell us when we sat down? Thank you for sending one of us in the pitch dark inan unfamiliar area to an ATM.
This soured the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieNeedleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gigot also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Gigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing