We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrived Cassoulet”
Review of Le Gigot

Le Gigot
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Gigot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,324 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: West 4th Street
Transit: A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Serving Provencal cuisine. Purity of ingredients and simplicity of preparation distinguish our specialties. Seasonal dishes are always introduced. A petite zinc bar, banquettes and floral arrangements foster a warm cozy ambiance, and an attentive staff ensures a customers' comfort and satisfaction.
USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Contrived Cassoulet”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We select restaurants because we love this surprisingly complex peasant meal,cassoulet. The chef at this restaurant is highly accomplished but didn't make the cassoulet properly. The ingredients didn't meld. The ingredients were added after the broth was made, not not slowly mixed infusing flavors from hours in the heat. The frisee salad was superb; the charcuterie was outstanding. But the main entree was highly disappointing.

Maybe it's a new chef? My beef bourginon was the same composed stew. Excellent sauce but the short ribs were added after the beef base was created. The ribs were probably held under the heater while the sauce was ladled into the bowl, and topped with the beef.

We informed the maitre d' who offered a dessert wine, very appreciated the gesture.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cramped Space but Delicious Food”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Le Gigot's lamb is wonderful; even my Greek husband thinks it is some of the best he's eaten in NY. Also notable are the crab cakes - lots of big chunks of crab meat.
the downside is the space is so small that you feel cramped, but the food makes up for any discomfort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best supper in New York”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a very special evening with the best lamb my wife has ever had and superb and affordable wine selection. Gosh my best meal in New York.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ustewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We have been going to this beautiful cozy resturaunts for 10 years. We always make a reservation months ahead of our annual trip to NYC for the US Open. No more as their reputation seems to have gotten the better of them. The appetizers were very good but the entrees were far below par and our waiter spent no time with us and failed to even explain the chalk board specials. the owner, who we have always admired and adored, gave us a passing apology but clearly didn't want our feedback. She dismissed us with a "I didn't charge you for the entrees" but didn't really process our feedback and we not concerned about the cost. We hope they can go back to their quality roots for both food and service

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My favorite place in all New York”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic French food that just gets better with time. Pamela and her team run this small, romantic space and maintain high standards in everything. Tables are small and close together and that creates the real bistro atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortlandPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gigot also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Gigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing