We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Vice than Roy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Central Park New York
Ranked #205 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More Vice than Roy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Worth trying new hotels when spending small amounts of time in a City, so it was an ideal chance to see if it meets the hype. In short no. For a new property, the showers are underpowered, the bathroom is backlit with a fluorescent tube (nice buzzing a la Motel 6). The small room is pleasant enough but it will date quickly. The hotel operator seems unable to use their PABX, dropping calls on an internal room call.

Teething or just another boutique experience with no substance behind it. Perhaps you won't bother to decide.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank WulsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear WulsLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience as one of our first guests to stay at Viceroy New York . I apologize that not everything was to your satisfaction.

We certainly appreciate the feedback that you have provided and we have noted the shortfalls that occurred in PABX and we will review our training in this area.I also note your comments regarding the Shower pressure and the lighting.

We appreciate that you chose Viceroy New York on your visit to the city and recognize that not everything was perfect for you ... we do however hope that you will consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    363
    143
    63
    31
See reviews for
170
479
57
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was greeted by door service at the entrance and in the lobby, it was a very welcoming and great boutique styled lobby. Rooms are really well spaced and laid out, really high class decor in the room! We had our puppy with us, and they even had little food & water bowls and a treat for her in the room. Beds are also extremely comfortable.

Location is perfect; you can walk to the bottom of Central Park in just a couple of minutes, plenty of restaurants and 5th ave shopping is right around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Shane T,

Thank you taking the time to review your stay at Viceroy New York ..

We were delighted that you and your puppy enjoyed your stay at the Hotel .. we are a dog friendly hotel and I am pleased that your puppy liked her treats.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again on future visits to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I loved the Viceroy New York City! It's got a chic downtown vibe with a cool midtown location. Shopping on 5th Avenue, amazing restaurants and Central Park are all at your doorstep. Hip and friendly staff! There is a cool rooftop with amazing views of the city. I liked the Beatz and other technology in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Shana 14-11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Viceroy New York.

We are fortunate to have one of the best locations in the City on 57th street between 6th and 7th Avenues, I am pleased that you enjoyed the locale and the shopping to be had.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and to hear that you were pleased to see a Beats by Dr Dre as one of our room amenities which has proved to be very popular.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

In a city filled with boring big box hotels, our experience at the brand new Viceroy New York was amazing. This gorgeous boutique hotel not only looks beautiful from the outside, but service starts immediately from the entrance and you can tell they already have the Viceroy skills down pat. As major Viceroy fans (we love Santa Monica), we were excited to stay here, although a bit nervous as we were coming on opening day. We were welcomed by at least 4 different staff members before entering the pristine lobby. The stunning leather seats, giant bronze map, colorful artwork, and inviting library are assembled in a way to make you feel like you are walking into a home, as opposed to just another hotel. The front desk team was extremely gracious, and our beautiful guest rooms faced the park side, with great city views. The immaculate details from the beautiful woodwork above the bed to the soft leather chaise and marble bathrooms with window cutouts, all scream luxury. I cannot wait to return to see the rooftop bar I have heard so much about! If you are looking for VIP treatment, the most central location possible, and a fabulous new hot spot, this is a MUST stay!

Room Tip: Opt for park views if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Clutchbomb,

We were delighted to receive and so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at Viceroy New York.

It is great that you took the time to describe your welcome you received at the Hotel and some of the great features that we have that have been custom designed by our designers Roman and Williams for Viceroy New York.

I am particularly pleased that you have mentioned our Front of House team who demonstrated such great hospitality to you . I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you will be able to sample our Roof Top Bar with stunning views of the City and Park which will open in December,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I just stayed at the brand new Viceroy in New York City and being a fan of their other properties I was excited to check it out! The building is STUNNING and and you certainly notice the hotel right away when you arrive. For those people who like to hip and cool hotels and need to be in the mid-town area - this is the perfect hotel for you! It's GEM among some of the hotels in the area. Lobby is very sleek and staff & service were excellent during my stay. The beds were so comfortable and the sheets so soft, I had the best night sleep and wasn't affected by any outside noise. I peeked into the almost ready restaurant - Kingside and the decor looks great and I can't wait to come back and check it out along with the Rooftop Lounge! Already looking forward to my next trip to NYC so I can stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear LauraK,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Viceroy New York following your recent stay as one of our first guests.

We were delighted to read all your comments but we were particularly delighted to hear that you had a great nights sleep.

Being located on 57th street gives you a great location and despite the busy environment I am pleased that you were not disturbed by any exterior noise.

We appreciate the time taken in writing a review on our Hotel and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the Viceroy New York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Central Park New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Central Park New York

Property: Viceroy Central Park New York
Address: 120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Central Park New York 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breaking the mold of midtown properties, Viceroy New York has the feel of a downtown hotel with the sophistication of its uptown counterparts. The striking double-height lobby, glamorous public spaces and guest room accommodations will feature a transformative décor that incorporates the city’s lifeblood through the strong, timeless, tailored style. Boasting 240 luxury guestrooms, many of which will have inspirational views of Central Park, the hotel's signature bespoke design details include elegant black muntined windows and original brass and aluminum light fixtures.Viceroy New York occupies one of the most energetic locations in Manhattan; the fusion of business and leisure on West 57th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues. The Roman and Williams designed façade of the hotel stands apart from its traditional neighbors with a distinctive appearance that creatively blends classic modern elements with bold, traditional rhythms in a disciplined grid of black brick and steel.Viceroy New York’s unparalleled amenities and culinary program will pulsate throughout the 29 stories, featuring The Roof, a paramount rooftop lounge in addition to Kingside, a signature restaurant located off the lobby and fronting 57th Street. Helmed by celebrity chef Marc Murphy, Kingside features a small plates menu of New American cuisine and sets the standard for quality dining and exceptional service in a buzzing, vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Central Park New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing