We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location with exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viceroy Central Park New York
Ranked #205 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a great location with exceptional service”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in New York and we were lucky enough to stay at the Viceroy. The hotel is in an ideal location, with rooms that are modern, spotless, and have incredibly comfortable beds, feather pillows and luxurious linens. The bathrooms are also modern and are nice sized. What makes this hotel truly extraordinary is the service. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and special. This is truly a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Jmhc,

Congratulations on celebrating your 30th Wedding Anniversary.

We are pleased that you chose to celebrate at Viceroy New York and I am delighted to hear that your experience was such a positive one in what you describe as a 'gem of a hotel'

Our Housekeeping Team will be delighted to hear your description of the Hotel as 'spotless' and I will pass your comments on to them and the rest of the team whom you mentioned made you feel special .

We are always pleased to receive all feedback and especially happy when our efforts are recognized.

We hope that you may return to Viceroy New York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    376
    152
    67
    34
See reviews for
177
505
59
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our pleasure vacation for our 28 year wedding anniversary began with a very early check in & guess what? Our room was ready at 7:00 a.m. To take a fast nap and regroup. The team of gracious hospitality is never ending. The location outstanding. The attention to detail unforgettable. Our evening concierge was fabulous in his dinner selections. The Viceroy knows the definition of hospitality! I love the fact for a beautiful new build, the room has windows that open. This is your NY hotel for business. Or pleasure.

Room Tip: Our room was 2305 & overlooked Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnedetert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear YvonneDetert,

Thank you for your nice review .. we were delighted that you chose Viceroy New York to celebrate your 28th Wedding anniversary .

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our expert Concierge team as well as our other team members who provided you with gracious hospitality during your stay.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Viceroy New York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

i stay in hotels in nyc on average of 30+ days a year---this is without a doubt the worst hotel i have ever experienced in nyc. the service is beyond bad….my room was not made up one day, another day, i returned to the room at 6pm and it was still not made up and it took three calls and another 1 1/2 hours to have cleaned. The room is attractive but so badly designed that it is unbelievable. the sink is located in the hallway near the door to the hallway, the closet is smaller than most gym lockers, there is a sharp edge around the base of the bed that is at the perfect hight to bump into. the list could go on and on…..i wouldn't think of putting my worse enemy in this hotel but then hotel management and designers should have to spend some time in the rooms for penance!
In short….don't go near this hell-hole!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thomas3335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Thomas3335,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Viceroy New York .

I am disappointed to read your comments and your choice of words in describing your experience.

We are very eager to hear our guests comments and do everything possible to correct issues when they arise.

We will certainly follow up on the issues that you have mentioned and I am grateful that you have brought them to my attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during the Marathon weekend.
The hotel has only been open about a month but there are no early day hiccups!
On arrival, you enter a really cool lobby with some very interesting artwork and a nice little library area at the rear. The staff here are exceptional. From the doorman to the receptionists, no one can do enough for you to make you stay enjoyable.
Check in was quick and easy and we headed up to our room on the 20th floor. Our Bags followed shortly after and we were given a briefing on our room. This is only really needed as the room is quite high tech with a smart phone type device operating most of the gadgets in the room! There is a TV, mini bar, safe, high end coffee machine, music station by Beats as well as iron and ironing board etc. You get a well stocked bathroom as well as robes and slippers.
The room we were in was not massive but certainly had everything we needed for a city break. There may have been a little lack of storage space had you been staying for a week or so?
The room had some really nice furniture and the bed was really comfortable. Our bathroom had a shower over a bath but our friends rooms only had a shower so check if you want both.
There is a pool and a roof bar but we didnt have time to visit either!
There is also a bar/restaurant attached and they look after the 24 hour rooms service for food and drinks. It has an amazing array of spirts and Tapas style food to pick at when in the bar. The prices here though are a little high.
The hotel is minutes from both Central Park and Time Square. Well within walking distance of both.
We would definately return to this hotel if we came to New York again.

Room Tip: I would imagine the street facing rooms offer a slightly better view than the rear facing property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPML1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear LPML1977,

We were delighted to read your review about your recent stay at the newly opened Viceroy New York. Congratulations on running the Marathon - a great achievement.

It is immensely gratifying for me and the team when we hear that we have made someone's stay in New York City a satisfying experience.

I will be sure to pass your positive comments on to all our team on whom you have commented and commended , the Front Desk , Doormen , all who helped to create a memorable experience for you .

We hope that you stay with us again in the future and get to experience the Roof Top bar on the 29th floor opening in January and our relaxation pool.

Once again thank you for your thoughtful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Viceroy is a nice hotel. Clean rooms, great location. But there are some major problems with there superior room catagory. I saw two rooms - Stayed in one for 5 days. I think these were both Superior rooms because I was in the least expensive room because I was on a work trip with a budget - but I'm still not sure how they categorize their rooms.

The first one was a tiny corner room 250 sq. ft. (they say) where you could barely walk around the bed. No room for luggage anywhere. No closet space. No Drawers. No luggage racks. Nice size bathroom. This room would be fine for one person. But not for two. All of the furniture has been custom made and every space is taken up by the amenities.

The second room 1706 (The one we stayed in) Had a long hallway leading in to the same small room 250 sq. ft. But for some reason the hallway makes it seems more spacious. The problems with this room are. The bathroom is tiny and the sink and mirror are in the hallway. (Great mirror - probably my favorite thing about the whole room). Like the previous room all the furniture has obviously been custom made. There is only one tiny closet next to the bed but you have to empty out everything to add probably a 1/4 of what you packed. If you like to unpack your clothes on a 5 day trip this is not the room for you. There is absolutely NO drawer space. For two people the closet is WAY too small. It's about 20 inches across with maybe about 12 inches of space for long items and the other space is for short items. You have to request luggage racks. You will be living out of your suitcase there is nowhere in this room to put anything. There is a lot of wasted space in the hallway. Only two little shelves under the sink in the hallway filled with towels. Also no view at all. View is of a building (You have to pay more for a view). There are also blackout curtains that don't let ANY light in. If you like to wake with the sun you have to leave the curtains open.

The beats by dre box is a nice touch. Overall the decor is nice but for the luxury hotel it's trying to be I would expect more.

No one showed us how to operate the phone, tv, etc...

I read in other reviews on here that there is a rooftop bar? No one showed it to us or even told us about it.

Most of the staff is lovely. But I encountered one major that doesn't know the first thing about customer service.

Kingside is not that great. (don't let the reviews fool you). Expensive and not worth it.

The good thing about this hotel is that it's new, it's in a great location and it's clean. If money isn't an option then I'm sure the suites are nice here. But for most of the public money is the first thing on their mind when traveling.

So I'm just being honest. Yes I had a good rate on a standard room, But I expected more from this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room or by the elevator. Walls are very thin. Ask for the Superior room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear LkinLA,

Thank you for your review of our recently opened Hotel - Viceroy New York .

We do appreciate the time that you have taken to explain the facilities that our rooms offer . I note that you particularly liked the Beats br Dre.

We will certainly pass on your comments to our team whom you said were 'lovely'.

I note the complaints about the size of your room and I am sorry to hear that it was not to your liking.

As you mention the Hotel will have a rooftop bar also and we anticipate that this will open in January 2014.

We do appreciate that you chose Viceroy New York on your recent visit and I hope that you may consider to stay again on another occasion .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Viceroy overall is a nice hotel. Friendly staff and neat amenities however the rooms are very very small. It is great for couples but probably not family friendly. Hardly any closet space and the lighting in the room could be better. Rooms were clean, bed comfortable however walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations very clearly. Also don't stay by an elevator. You will hear it every time is dings.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AngelBaby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Angelbaby13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at Viceroy New York.

I note your satisfaction with our room amenities such as Complimentary Wi-Fi .I also appreciate you mentioning our friendly colleagues.

While we offer varying sizes of rooms, to suit different tastes , our standard room is certainly competitive within the market place while offering every essential amenity .

I do hope that you will stay with us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for ten days, no upgrade, no late check out, not even 1/2 an hour !
Service is lousy, maids forget to clean the room, to add soap like in a 2* hotel. AVOID this property, not worth the money, very lousy manager who is very stingy and does nothing to please you. No style !

Room Tip: It is not worth the money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emm8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Emm8888,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the newly opened Viceroy New York.

We were delighted that you got to experience our Hotel over a period of 10 nights.

While we are continually striving for perfection there are of course going to be times when we could do things better..

I will certainly investigate your complaint regarding Housekeeping service to avoid a recurrence.

We are happy to consider requests for Late Check out and more often than not happy to grant them provided by doing so we do not impact the check in time of an arriving guest.

We would of course been happy to discuss these issues with you while you were staying at the Hotel so that we could have reached a reasonable accommodation.

We appreciate you choosing Viceroy New York on your visit to the City .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,639 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,213 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#99 of 468 in New York City
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#259 of 468 in New York City
5,450 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
1,362 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Central Park New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Central Park New York

Property: Viceroy Central Park New York
Address: 120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Central Park New York 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breaking the mold of midtown properties, Viceroy New York has the feel of a downtown hotel with the sophistication of its uptown counterparts. The striking double-height lobby, glamorous public spaces and guest room accommodations will feature a transformative décor that incorporates the city’s lifeblood through the strong, timeless, tailored style. Boasting 240 luxury guestrooms, many of which will have inspirational views of Central Park, the hotel's signature bespoke design details include elegant black muntined windows and original brass and aluminum light fixtures.Viceroy New York occupies one of the most energetic locations in Manhattan; the fusion of business and leisure on West 57th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues. The Roman and Williams designed façade of the hotel stands apart from its traditional neighbors with a distinctive appearance that creatively blends classic modern elements with bold, traditional rhythms in a disciplined grid of black brick and steel.Viceroy New York’s unparalleled amenities and culinary program will pulsate throughout the 29 stories, featuring The Roof, a paramount rooftop lounge in addition to Kingside, a signature restaurant located off the lobby and fronting 57th Street. Helmed by celebrity chef Marc Murphy, Kingside features a small plates menu of New American cuisine and sets the standard for quality dining and exceptional service in a buzzing, vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Destinology, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Central Park New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing