We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Central Park New York
Ranked #205 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing interiors - the wood joinery, the brass plated lamps and cabinet hardware, the tan leather upholstery and wool felt curtains ... Are all really cool, and on a snowing December Saturday, it feels comfortable to be here. Only thing is, I'm watching tv - and even above the loud voices of House Wives of Atlanta - I can hear what's going on in the two rooms either side of me. Talking on top of Nene Leaks, was the voice of a Chinese woman coming through my wall, with a twenty five minute conversation with her bank. On the otherside, the deep mumble mumble of a man, through the poorly insulated doors (I'm in what could b adjoining rooms). Sounds trivial; but SO annoying, especially when one's trying to enjoy a little bravo tv. That aside, a beautiful property, nice food, and attentive service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Ben J ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the newly opened Viceroy New York.

I am pleased that you were happy with so many elements of our rooms design and about the 'attentive service' that you received.

I note your comments about the noise insulation between the rooms , rest assured that this is something that we are addressing.

We do hope that you will consider Viceroy New York on a future visit to the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Absolutely the best location, hotel and staff. My wife and I and our 4 year old loved this place. Great service, very friendly and helpful front staff... thank you to Genie, Ruby, Jarvis and everyone else that made our stay a very happy and memorable one. Love that the hotel is new and everything was clean and spotless. We picked up our morning cappuccino and chocolate croissant at the front bar and had a couple of meals at the hotel's restaurant called Kingside.... service was excellent and the food was delicious. Can't wait to go back to the Viceroy and NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankiediamondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Frankiediamondo,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Viceroy New York .

I and the team were delighted to read your comments and to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I will certainly pass your comments on to the individuals that you have commended in your review .

We look forward to welcoming you back to Viceroy New York in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Viceroy over a long weekend. Having travelled to New York before, we thought we'd try a different hotel.

As you'd expect being new the hotel was in immaculate condition, and whilst the rooms are not huge they are more than adequately sized. The restaurant/bar attached is fine, though as alluded to by other reviewers it does get busy in the evenings. Fortunately the location is ideal for easily reaching other bars or restaurants.

The staff in the hotel are welcoming and friendly. The doormen and concierges in particular deserve special mention, no request was too small for them to give their full attention too.

We would not hesitate to return to the hotel, and can recommend whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianW859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Christianw859,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Viceroy New York .

As a recently opened property the team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your time and the service that you received. I will certainly pass your comments on to them.

As you mention our location on 57th street makes for great shopping and sightseeing.

Thank you for sharing your comments with other Trip Advisor readers looking for a Hotel to stay in New York City .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Staying at this hotel at present on a business trip. I agree with what others have said about the enthusiastic service ethic. Sadly my room is rather small and the soundproofing could be improved: I could hear every word of what was being said in the next room. I asked to be moved but this was not possible.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank PDSK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear PDSK13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Viceroy New York .

We were very pleased to read your kind comments about the 'enthusiastic' service that you received , I will certainly pass your comments on to the team.

I note your comments about the sound proofing and rest assured that this is something that we are addressing.

I do hope that you will consider Viceroy New York on a future visit to the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I just stayed in The Viceroy NYC and the service was great, the Marc Murphy restaurant's Kingside is amazing.
All the tecnology into the room, the bed was great.....I paid for a garden view and was the best for us, is very quiet...the perfect place for shopping, evrything is so close!
The service is excellent, keep this way.
I will be back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Esteban D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Esteban.

We were pleased that you chose to stay at the recently opened Viceroy New York on your recent visit to the City .

I note your positive comments about our partner Restaurant Kingside , our location on 57th street , and the technology, Viceroy Connect in the room .

In addition for the benefit of trip advisor readers I should mention that we also offer complimentary Wi-Fi , Illy Espresso Coffee machines in every room, and a Beats by Dr Dre Speaker which delivers fantastic sound quality.

Delivering quality service is at the cornerstone of what we aim to achieve every day and I hope that when you return your experience will be the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Viceroy was the best hotel I ever stayed at everyone from the manager to the employee at the pool area were super nice an helpful with my stay they made my stay so much better I will stay there everytime I go back to New York

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Kelvin2508,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay at the newly opened Viceroy New York.

I am so pleased that our team was successful in making you feel at home in New York City , I will certainly share your positive comments with them.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Checked in at 1am with my family. There was a problem with the connecting doors between the rooms. They offered me a complementary upgrade which is very nice of them. It's a new boutique hotel for the viceroy chain. Their single king bedrooms are a bit tight; I would recommend a joiner suite. The staff are super friendly from the manager to the lowest ranked staff. They even sent me a congratulation note the day Dubai won the EXPO2020.

Defiantly this won't be my last visit and the location is superb!

The concierge has great connections with restaurant owners around the city!.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Essa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Essa S,

We were delighted to read your review and I am pleased that you were happy with the service that we provided you when you visited the recently opened Viceroy New York..

I was pleased that our team were able to resolve the issues that you had on arrival with your room and I was delighted to hear of the thoughtful recognition that a member of our team sent to you when Dubai was awarded Expo2020.

Thank you once again for the kind review that you have shared with Trip Advisor readers , we do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,856 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#257 of 469 in New York City
5,587 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,494 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#190 of 469 in New York City
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Central Park New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Central Park New York

Address: 120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £217 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Central Park New York 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breaking the mold of midtown properties, Viceroy New York has the feel of a downtown hotel with the sophistication of its uptown counterparts. The striking double-height lobby, glamorous public spaces and guest room accommodations will feature a transformative décor that incorporates the city’s lifeblood through the strong, timeless, tailored style. Boasting 240 luxury guestrooms, many of which will have inspirational views of Central Park, the hotel's signature bespoke design details include elegant black muntined windows and original brass and aluminum light fixtures.Viceroy New York occupies one of the most energetic locations in Manhattan; the fusion of business and leisure on West 57th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues. The Roman and Williams designed façade of the hotel stands apart from its traditional neighbors with a distinctive appearance that creatively blends classic modern elements with bold, traditional rhythms in a disciplined grid of black brick and steel.Viceroy New York’s unparalleled amenities and culinary program will pulsate throughout the 29 stories, featuring The Roof, a paramount rooftop lounge in addition to Kingside, a signature restaurant located off the lobby and fronting 57th Street. Helmed by celebrity chef Marc Murphy, Kingside features a small plates menu of New American cuisine and sets the standard for quality dining and exceptional service in a buzzing, vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Central Park New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing